help me with my emac!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bill-gates, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    bill-gates

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #1
    right recently i took my took my airport card out of my emac to see if it was normal or extreme (it be extreme:D)
    i took the anntena off it then examined it then i put it back in the same way it said on apples website:rolleyes:. it seemed simple enough .BUT NO! IT DIDNT WORK! now my emac does not even pick up the card, it said its not installed! seriously ive tryed everything! even forcing it in and even acurepuncture (not realy just thought it was funny;)) right so my airport cards not working

    can anybody help me?

    regards a weird newb...eerrreerr i mean stuart :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    You've got seven apples at the end of your post. Are you going to eat all those?

    Do you have another Mac capable of testing the AirPort Extreme card on? The first step should be to see whether this is a problem cause by the card or by the slot on your eMac. :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    bill-gates

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #3
    i thought my user name was bill gay-tes? well any way no i tryed on a ibook and it worked perfectly:(
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Well the forcing-it-in part might not have helped. Do the slot and/or the cable connectors look damaged?
     
  5. macrumors member

    Cfour

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #5
    I had the same trouble as you when I 1st installed my AirPort card about a week ago, I popped it in, turned it on and then it didn't 'see' it, did this aout another 3 times and then took out the card pushed it in as firmly as I dared and then clicked in further than had done before and then make sure the antenna is securely snapped in.
    A bit *emphasizes bit* of brute force is needed

    Cfour
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    bill-gates

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #6
    well the antenna looks damedged *gulp....*:(
     

Share This Page