Help ! My cat has altered my laptop!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Adz, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. Adz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #1
    My cat has sat on powerbook and somehow managed to turn the screen into negative!.
    I've tried putting him back on it , but he can't seem to revert it back to normal.
    Can anyone help my cat to get the screen back to how it was?

    His dinner tonight is resting on this!
    Many thanks.

    Adz
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #3
    Whoa that's freaky. IIRC cats don't see in full colour like we do. I think your cat changed the settings so that it could see the display more easily?

    Check safari's history! The Cache! Cookies! Your Credit Card!

    There's every possiblity that your cat has ordered some Bluefin Tuna on ebay :D!
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    A small side-comment: That "trick" has stopped working on my 12" iBook G4@800 running 10.4.2. I used to be able to do it, but now nothing happens when I press those buttons.

    I remember in Panther it showed the screen in negative black and white, but when I upgraded to Tiger it actually showed the screen in negative colors, very cool, I even mentioned it in a "I've installed Tiger"-thread back in May. But now it doesn't work any more... :(

    Anyone else that has this "problem"?
     
  5. Adz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #5

    Well I think I may have that problem,unless( and this is very likely) I'm pressing the wrong buttons.Im running 10.4.2 and pressing the Ctrl,alt ,and the apple sybol button,then the number 8 button but Im still in negative mode.
     
  6. witness macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Austria
    #6
    That's really funny :)

    I kind of remember a few years back seeing some software designed specifically for detecting and then ignoring key presses from a cats paw. The company claimed to have researched the ergonomics of a cat's paw and the patterns of keys pressed and created an intelligent product that could filter out key presses by cats. I can't remember what the product was called now, but it could be exactly what you need to protect yourself from your IT literate cat.
     
  7. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #7
    Nope, but that is configurable in the Keyboard Shortcuts tab of Keyboard & Mouse. Maybe something else is overriding it?
     
  8. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #8
    A small side-comment: *Screenshooting* when you activate the B&W option gives you a gray scaled picture...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Jay42 macrumors 65816

    Jay42

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    #9
    Wow, coolest tip I've heard in a long time, never knew about this! The mighty mouse looks good in black, I'd buy one:

    EDIT: Whoops, screen capture doesn't actually capture this effect. Well, I guess you'll just have to his CMD-ALT-CTRL-8 to see what I'm talkin about.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Adz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #10
    Good call!I forgot about the keyboard shortcut options!
    Im back from the darkside!
    It was configured as something else; ,alt,apple,6 don't know if this is standard or the cat did it.
    Many thanks.
     
  11. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #12
    The zoom trick is also quite neat ... look at keyboard shortcuts in system preferences for more cool tricks.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13

    Strange. Was it overridden as someone suggested?

    Oh, and Adz, I have no idea how you ended up with 6 instead of 8. That's weird. So long as it's all okay now though. :)
     
  13. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    No, much more embarrasing, I had turned off all the Universal Access shortcuts. (I vaguely remember doing this a while ago, but I cannot remember why on Earth I did it :eek:).

    Thanks everyone for making me looking at the Keyboard.prefPane (as Quicksilver calls it).

    Now it works again, and still in color... :)
     
  14. sakasune macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #15
    Look at the cat with the control+option+apple+8 trick. REALLY FREAKY
     
  15. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #16
    Wow that's cool! I'm gonna keep it this way for a while I think.

    "Yeah, I got the cheapest 12" PB I could get, only problem is, it's black and white!"
     
  16. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #17
    Hey this little girl is looking for her cat:

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  17. GreyFox1221 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    #19
    UGH! I just kept flashing tapping the 8 button while holding down CONTROL-OPTION-COMMAND. Headache :(
     
  18. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #20
    The way you guys are acting, maybe it's time for a CAT scan ...
     

    Attached Files:

  19. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    Does it still work when you turn it on in system preferences? (Sys Prefs -> Universal Access -> Seeing -> Display) And do you have full keyboard access on still, and do you have the "enable access for assistive devices" button checked at the bottom of this preference pane? Perhaps one of those things got turned off in the upgrade?
     
  20. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #22
    I got it working again... see the embarrassing note above... ;)

    I have not checked the "Assistive devices"-button, but it was funny to see that when I'm in the UniversalAccessPref.prefPane and use ctrl-option-cmd-8 it toggles between the two main Display options "magically"... :)
     

Share This Page