Help. My computer just did something strange.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Eniregnat, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #1
    Before I uploaded the new QT, my computer did the strangest thing. I was working and this screen appeared that said that I had to reboot in several languages. A big power on/off icon bezel appeared as a ghost over the screen. Nothing worked, less a hard boot. I haven’t installed anything recently, I wasn't using any pirated media or software. What could the cause be?

    I should of saved.
     
  2. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #2
    That was a kernel panic. Could be caused by bad RAM... I'd run the Apple Hardware test and test the memory. If that passes, I wouldn't worry about it unless it happens again.
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    Sounds like a kernel panic. The most serious system failure a Mac running OS X can experience. Often this is a sign of some hardware failing, but it could also just be a hick-up... back up all you can, just to be safe, and if it reoccurs, it's time to get it serviced...

    (I had one on my iBook about a year ago, but I think it was a combination of long uptime, FileVault and BitTorrent. I no longer use FV or BT, and has not had any kernel panics since, just a couple of BT-related freezes...)
     
  4. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #4
    This should be in the doccumentation. I have had a number of these. Argh, well I am going to reinstall the OS after running the hardware test. I have to reinstall the OS because I can not upgrade to QT7 yet, and I accidently just did. This broke all of my AppleScripts that use QT for conversion, playing, etc... It also broke my FCP (which I own) and need.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #5
    Bergen, Norway and Iowa, Florida in the U.S.A.

    Help from around the globe. It's nice to know that if I were drifting around the planet, I could get help from all sorts of people I don't know.

    Again, thank you!
    or
    Igjen, takk!
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Eniregnat, if you have had several kernel panics, and you do not find hardware issues, open the file /library/logs/panic.log -- it is a text file. It contains a trace on each kernel panic. Sometimes this trace will implicate a program that issued the last call before the panic -- this program is not always the cause of the panic per se. *But*, if you have the same program implicated over and over again, it's possible that some issue with that program, perhaps interacting with other software you use, is the cause.
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    There may be a panic.log in /Library/Logs/. Posting that might give us a clue to what is causing your KP.

    Before you go through the rigamarole of reinstalling the OS, I'd start a little simpler and remove all non-apple peripherals from your comptuer. Keep it simple and see if you still experience KPs. If not, start adding peripherals back until you can isolate the problem.
     
  8. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #8
    I'll check that log out.
    That is something I wasn't aware of.
    I don't think that it could be a conflict, because I have used the same suite of software for about a year. The only thing that I have reinstalled is M$ OSX, as it somehow lost one of the toolbars. I don't relish spending a day reinstalling software and the os, but perhaps I should. I will backup everything tonight!
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    That doesn't matter. It could be something as simple as a Microsoft multi-button mouse going bad and causing kernel panics. It could be RAM that has finally gone bad. It could be some software that installed a kernel extension that doesn't work with 10.3.9. In most of my experiences, KPs were hardware related, but experiences vary. KPs are hard to track down and it takes slow troubleshooting steps to accurately identify them.
     
  10. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #10
    Which version of FCP are you using


    I've been reluctant to upgrade my system to Tiger because I too use FCP. I'm on FCP HD. Is that the version you're using? If so, what broke in FCP??
     
  11. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #11
    Yellow (or Brock I didn't see your post).

    I haven’t used any prefrials during a kernel panic. I always restart when I unmount a firewire drive, iPod, or mouse. That’s the practice I have to use at work (a WinTel house).

    I still have to reinstall OSX and FCP because I updated QT, and I don't have the pro licence for QT7. FCP comes with a QT licence, and if QT isn't in "pro" mode, FCP won't work.
     
  12. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #12
    That's my concern with FCP. From what I've heard, Tiger overwrites QT 6 with QT 7 when you perform the upgrade. If that's the case, then FCP will indeed be broken. I would like to get some confirmation on this. If it's true, I can't move to Tiger until ALL my current projects have completed.
     
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  14. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #14
    FCP wont write media to the drive. I suppose what I have done will work, and I'll bet Compressor still works (but perhaps not), but I can't export. I may be haveing other problems.
     
  15. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #15
    30$ I just can’t do this week. Don’t get me wrong, QT Pro is worth it.
    I'm working hard at paying off my credit card debits. I have a good schedule, but it has little flexibility. I accrued a bundle of medical bills after a car decided (or at least this is the best guess, because I don't remember) that I didn't belong in the bike lane. Anyway, I couldn't work for a while, and what my insurance didn't cover was placed on my CC, including car payments, phone bill, old debits, etc…

    Lifer or Switcher- yes. To make a short story long: I was diagnosed with a slew of learning disabilities in the 5th grade. At the time my parents made sure I was computer literate, so I worked extensively with Apple //'s (owned a //e and //gs). After high school I switch to PCs, due to cost, software advantages, and it was what I found being used at university. I later switched back to Mac when the RevB clamshell ibook came out. (tangerinE iBook + dyslexia = Eniregnat)

    Kernal Pannic Log- there is a lot of stuff here, her is todays crash.
    • *********

      Fri Apr 29 09:54:58 2005




      Unresolved kernel trap(cpu 0): 0x300 - Data access DAR=0x0000000024C7EA98 PC=0x0000000000091688
      Latest crash info for cpu 0:
      Exception state (sv=0x2C66A500)
      PC=0x00091688; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x24C7EA98; DSISR=0x42000000; LR=0x0002E6B0; R1=0x18CA3E40; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
      Backtrace:
      0x0002E6FC 0x0002E6B0
      Proceeding back via exception chain:
      Exception state (sv=0x2C66A500)
      previously dumped as "Latest" state. skipping...
      Exception state (sv=0x24C7EA00) Not mapped or invalid. stopping...

      Kernel version:
      Darwin Kernel Version 7.9.0:
      Wed Mar 30 20:11:17 PST 2005; root:xnu/xnu-517.12.7.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC


      panic(cpu 0): 0x300 - Data access
      Latest stack backtrace for cpu 0:
      Backtrace:
      0x00083498 0x0008397C 0x0001EDA4 0x00090C38 0x0009402C
      Proceeding back via exception chain:
      Exception state (sv=0x2C66A500)
      PC=0x00091688; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x24C7EA98; DSISR=0x42000000; LR=0x0002E6B0; R1=0x18CA3E40; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
      Backtrace:
      0x0002E6FC 0x0002E6B0
      Exception state (sv=0x24C7EA00) Not mapped or invalid. stopping...

      Kernel version:
      Darwin Kernel Version 7.9.0:
      Wed Mar 30 20:11:17 PST 2005; root:xnu/xnu-517.12.7.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC

      
      *********
     
  16. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    I didn't know there was an "official" website now! Thanks for the link!

    I wonder from your panic log if your hard drive is failing.. when's the last time you ran some disk utilities on it?
     
  17. Eniregnat thread starter macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #17
    Yea, I am going to go home and back up my HD after work.

    I am having problems with FCP and it may not by the QT7 upgrade.
    At least I have Apple Care, or I hope I do. I bought it when I purchased my PB, but I haven’t had a reason to register it.

    As for the Venture Bros, I don't own a TV, but when I am at my girlfriends house, if I have insomnia I watch AdultSwim. The Venture Brothers is some of the best comedy out-there.

    Cheers, and thank you all once again.
     

Share This Page