Help! My macbook wont install silverlight

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by smac1477, Sep 22, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #1
    so recently i got an account for Netflix. in order to watch video, i have to install silverlight. when i start to install it everything thing goes fine until it wants my password. When i put in my password, it doesn't do anything. it would just go back to the install page as if i didn't put in my password. i would repeat again and again and nothing would happen. i have also noticed that this would happen every time i want to install something that requires my password.

    And yes i have restarted safari and my computer many times and all. Even changed my password and still nothing will happen.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #2
    Can you provide a bit more detail?
    What OS X version?
    What EXACTLY happens after you provide your password and what do you then do?

    Normally, you should provide your password to authorise the installation, then you click through the installer.
    You can check whether Silverlight has been installed by seeing if a plug-in with Silverlight in its name is in /Library/Internet plug-ins.
     
  3. smac1477, Sep 23, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #3
    i have version 10.7.5. I checked the internet plug-in and silver light is not there
    Also this happens every time i need to put in a password, it would just go back
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    are you set up as an administrator?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #5
    there is only one account on my macbook. i am the main one
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    TX
    #6
    Your admin profile may be corrupted. Try creating a new one, log in with the new one, and then try to download. Also make sure Firewall is not turned on.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #7
    i cant make a new account. it tells me to put in my password, then the same thing happens, it just goes back. Also firewall is not turned on
     
  8. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #8
  9. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #9
    which would indicate your problem is not with silverlight.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #10
  11. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #11
    That is a hard drive problem! Try to repair that drive or better yet replace that drive, with an SSD.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #12
    is there any way of getting rid of SMART error without having to buy replace everything?
     
  13. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #13
    By the time the Smart error happens even if you can repair it means the hard drive will fail hard again in the near future. Trust me when I say this replacing a spinning drive with a SSD will give that Mac a big boost.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #14
    by replacing this, will i loose anything on my macbook?
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #15
    Yes, you will lose everything, but if you back up all of your data first, you can just put it back afterwards.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #16

    how do i do this? Please be specific.
     
  17. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #17
    1. Buy an external hard disk that has a port on it as past as the speediest port on your Mac.

    2. Get either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper and clone your startup drive to that external.

    3. Buy a SSD using the free Install videos. The use the USB Lion install disk i will talk about.

    4. Boot from you external and re-download the 10.7.5 Lion install from the Mac store and make a USB key using Lion DiskMaker and then install 10.7.5 on the internal SSD and then move the iTunes library according to the blob post How to move an iTunes library to an external drive.
     

Share This Page