Help...My MBP has gone very sloooow!why?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by student_trap, Feb 8, 2007.

  1. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #1
    Hello all,

    My macbook pro has become very slow for no real reason, its the 2.33 model with 2 gigs of ram and a 160 HD.

    when i had first put all of my stuff on it it was great...really snappy, no laggy moments at all, i could have itunes/iphoto/quicktime/safari with loads of tabs/ichat and sometimes garageband all open at the same time with no delays....

    now its about 16 days old, and it has got very very slow and i am dissapointed. changing songs or source in itunes causes a lag, or scrolling through photos in iphoto. I was looking at photos full screen the other day and it would lag for about 2 or 3 seconds between photos. finder itself is slower, it used to open instantly but now takes a second...and to top it all off, by internet has slowed terribly, which makes no sense as i have a 50Mb per second connection here at uni. a friend here at uni has the same modal mbp and is having none of these problems, although she has said that her internet has slowed down a litle. when i first used the internet on my mpb i was so chuffed as everything was instant, now it takes ages.

    Has anyone got any ideas, i have repaired permissions to no avail and the 2gigs of ram are reconised in system profiller, but i am concerned as my mbp has slowed to the snappyness of my old G4 with 512 RAM!!!!

    please help, i am NOT happy with this at all (and was so happy with my mbp as well!)
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Have you had Safari running all this time, by any chance? Safari is particularly bad about being a memory hog, and can cause these issues if left running constantly. Same goes for other WebKit or WebCore-based browsers, like OmniWeb and Shiira.
     
  3. student_trap thread starter macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #3
    i usually keep my mac on most of the time and only sleep it at night, and yes safari tends to be on for most of that time. is this really the problem though, my internet speed has gone from almost instant to pretty slow, which is not the case when others plug into my room's internet port
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Hmm... again, it sounds like your computer is having some sort of trouble. Does restarting Safari clear things up any? If it does, great! If it doesn't, try restarting your Mac. Also give repairing permissions a try - can't hurt, and might fix some underlying issue you're not aware of.
     
  5. student_trap thread starter macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #5
    restarting doesn't seem to make much difference.

    I hame AOE3 installed on my computer, could that make a difference? All of these problems sem to coincide with the problem i was having about a week ago which resulted in my computer getting hotter than it used to as well...here is that thread

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=275006

    oh dear it just took safari 6 seconds to load up the macrumors home page, that cannot be normal with a internet connection as fast as the one i am currently using
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    Hmm... I suspect some software you installed put a kernel extension in there that Mac OS X doesn't like. Do you happen to know if any of your installed programs were recently added/updated? If so, look at those first.
     
  7. student_trap thread starter macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #7
    not as far as i know, i have installed:

    a few widgets, that i deleted almost immediately (they caused the problems mentioned in the thread above)...istat pro, mini stat ram, hard drive,

    age of empires 3

    microsoft office

    could any of these have caused any problems, and if so, how can i get my comp working at its normal speed?
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    Microsoft Office definitely isn't the cause, and I doubt it's Age of Empires 3. I'm surprised by your report of widgets causing trouble, though, since they shouldn't in most cases. I suggest that you run some diagnostics (that you can do yourself) to try and pin down the cause.

    First of all, open up Activity Monitor and sort by CPU usage. Anything using unreasonable amounts of CPU time? Also check memory usage.
    Secondly, open up Disk Utility and repair permissions for Macintosh HD (or whatever your main hard disk is called, if you renamed it).
    Finally, do you have your install CD or DVD handy? Insert it, and boot from it. Do NOT install Mac OS X. Instead, go to the menu bar and choose Open Disk Utility. Check Macintosh HD for errors. Once that's done, reboot from your internal HD again using Startup Disk (this can be invoked from the same menu you invoked Disk Utility from).
     

Share This Page