Help! Need a firmware update, apparently

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by simontarr, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. simontarr macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi there. I'm new to macs so excuse my n00bness.

    Anyway, I'm trying to install the latest version of bootcamp on my 2GHz iMac, but I keep getting asked to update my firmware before I can do so. I'm running OS X 10.4.7 and when I unpacked the mac last week, I ran all the updates. In all those updates was a firmware upgrade, so I'm pretty sure I have the latest version. I've been running software update everyday to see if there has been an update, but no luck so far.

    I'm just wondering what version I need. Also, how to I find out what version I have, and what the current version is, and also where I get the latest firmware version from (hope that makes sense)

    Thanks in advance.

    PS. I'm glad to be part of the mac commmunity having been using PCs for so long. All you guys are so helpful and friendly! Thanks for all your help :)
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    To check if there is an update available:

    - Click the Apple button in the top left corner
    -Go to Software Update
    It will say it's checking for new software for a while, then it may say new software available. Download only what you need; if you don't need it, it takes up precious space on your HDD, and it takes time to download. (ie if you don't use AirPort, and don't plan to, it's useless to download updated software for it)
    -GO!
     
  3. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #3
    Did you actually run the firmware updater? It should be in your utilities folder somewhere. It's an .app file that you need to run before it can update your firmware. The instructions are all there too :)
     
  4. simontarr thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Cheers I'll give it a go, but I really remember software updater doing it for me automatically. (It asked for a restart etc.) but I'll give this another go fo'sure

    UPDATE- Having run the firmware updater says I have the latest SMC version (v1.0). What version does everyone else have?
     
  5. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    Weird, because I remember having to shut down the machine and then hold down the power button until the light began to flash rapidly or somehting like that to update my firmware... Oh well, tried installing bootcamp again?
     
  6. simontarr thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I cant install bootcamp because I need the firmware update. And the firmware updater wont run as it believes I have the latest version. I believe I shall be going round in circles shortly :(
     
  7. simontarr thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    ANOTHER UPDATE

    I've just been rooting around the apple website and I've found firmware v1.01. I think I'll download that and give it a go. Will report back if it works :D Thanks for your help guys
     
  8. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
  9. simontarr thread starter macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    It has indeed! Thanks guys
     
  10. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #10
    Glad it worked, now you can get on with installing windows haha :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page