help need info on choosing version of osx to use

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macnewbie001, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. macnewbie001 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #1
    i have a PowerMac AGP 400mhz with 128 of ram and runing os 9.1 and need to know a suitable version of OSX to run
     
  2. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
  3. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #3
    Upgrade the RAM to 512MB, at least. PC133 RAM (remember to get good-quality Mac compatible stuff) is cheap-- you might want to get even more.

    You can also upgrade the hard drive, if it hasn't been already, to a faster-spinning 7200 rpm drive. If you're going to use the motherboard then the drive must be less than 128GB, however. (Not that big of a deal, really, and pretty cheap)

    Do those two upgrades and you can use Tiger or Panther. Without them, and I'm not sure what version I'd go to-- perhaps Jaguar, but 10.2 is pretty old.
     
  4. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #4
    You're going to need to up the ram regardless of which version you select. That powermac has 4 slots (I think) each of which can hold 256MB for a maximum of 1GB total. I'd suggest at least 512MB. You might also consider upgrading the graphics card to a model that supports core video.

    I've got panther running on an old G3 iBook. It's remarkably snappy... I'd give that a try.
     
  5. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #5
    That PowerMac can go up to 4GB of RAM. 4 1GB sticks. And IIRC OS X requires a minimum of 128MB of RAM... (Apple's site says Tiger requires 256MB)
     
  6. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #6
    Just did some research... we're both wrong. The AGP G4 only supports 512MB sticks and can address a max of 1.5GB memory.

    http://support.apple.com/specs/powermac/Power_Mac_G4_AGP.html
     
  7. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7
    Even better source for ya, that further disproves both of us. But this one really is the source I should have looked at in the beginning.

    Mactraker says 2.0GB of RAM under OS X, 1.5GB under OS 9 and previous. It also says it takes PC100 RAM. (PC133 will work in it, but not DDR RAM.)
    Linkety to Mactraker
     
  8. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #8
    Having owned several of the 400-500mhz AGP macs (ie Sawtooths), I can absolutely confirm that they have 4 ram slots, capable of holding up to 512mb per slot for a max of 2GB of either PC 100 or 133 low density ram (the type with chips on both sides of the circuit board). And that OS 9 will only recognize up to 1.5GB of it.....

    And finally, that with 1GB+ of ram and a fast HD, a Sawtooth WILL run Tiger just fine, it certainly wont be a Shake/Motion/FCP workhorse, but it WILL work good for most other everyday tasks :p Been there, done that several times over !
     

Share This Page