HELP! Need to put a password on wireless internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mligertwood, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. mligertwood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #1
    Hey all. So I live in a house with wireless internet. The actual modem and router are not connected to a desktop and everyone in the house is on laptop. I have a d-link router...how can I put a password on it so that only the people that live here and pay for the internet are the only ones actually using it? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #2
    IM NOT SURE YOU CAN CHANGE A D-LINK ROUTER FROM A MAC!
    Sticky cap key.....
    I know how to do it using airport extreme....
    You may be able to do it from a PC with d-links software installed.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Most routers have a webpage that allows for changing of settings.

    Have you looked at the D-Link website for support on your model? I'm sure they'll tell you how to do it there. I'm fairly certain it's in the manuals.

    http://support.dlink.com/
     
  4. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #4
    I'm not sure on this but I think that you need to be wired(Ethernet cable, cat5)to do changes to your router.
     
  5. mligertwood thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #5
    D-link support....

    I have tried looking online with the D-link support for my model, however Im not that savvy and don't know how to do it...or where for that matter. If anyone can shed some light and or easy instructions on how to I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks again for all your responses!
     
  6. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #6
    Call the company and have them walk you through it. If you're still setting it up, you must have just bought it, so there will be no problem. Just call tech support and tell them you don't know how to and they'll tell you everything you need to know.
     
  7. Church macrumors regular

    Church

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #7
    Post the model of the router, that will probably help everyone help you.
     
  8. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #8
    From Safari. go to 192.168.0.1 to access the Dlink router settings.
    I don't think you want to set a password. All you need to do is enable WEP on the router. Then type in the WEP code on each laptop in the airport/network settings.
     
  9. mligertwood thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #9
    Thanks!

    Hey got it all figured out. Thanks for all the replys. Had to go to the IP address for my router and enable the WEP and set a HEX # . FYI in order for it to work and not screw up when trying to connect make sure you put a $ sign before you 10 digit HEX when asked for the password otherwise it won't connect.

    But FYI those tech support guys over at D-link are SO NICE!! So nice that I asked to speak to a supervisor who was way nicer than the first guy! SO nice that once they fixed the problem they created he hung up on me.... Great guys....your super...

    In case you didnt pick up on that...it was all sarcastic..
     
  10. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #10
    Cool, so it is posable. I got a free d-link router, and I wanted to extend the range of my wireless network. Now I know how. :D
    Yeah Tech support guys are usually a boatload of fun.
    But this always cheers me up.
     

Share This Page