Help Needed iTunes

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ScarletRed, Jul 19, 2006.

1. ScarletRed macrumors regular

ScarletRed

Hello. I am new to Mac and I am new to iTunes. And I am truly clueless. I tried internet search to no avail. I tried iTunes help without luck. So I now turn to you for help.

On my PC, I can import songs to MP3 format and store them on my hard drive easily. I wish to do the same with my new MBP using iTunes, only I do not know how. I do not wish to burn entire CDs. I do not wish to import to AIFF (whatever that means) format. I just want to import a select few songs from audio CDs to MP3 files and store them on my hard drive. How would I do this?

Help would be much appreciated.

2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

Go to iTunes --> Preferences --> Advanced --> Importing

Under "Import Using:," select "MP3 Encoder." Then when you stick a CD into your computer, you can highlight the songs you want and then click Import.

3. ScarletRed thread starter macrumors regular

ScarletRed

4. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

In iTunes, it's easiest to import selected songs from a CD like this:

[​IMG]

Tracks 2, 4, 6 and 8 won't import, as I've clicked the little tick box next to them...

Attached Files:

5. Frisco macrumors 68020

And

Welcome to Macintosh and Macrumors!

Frisco

6. ScarletRed thread starter macrumors regular

ScarletRed

Thank you for the help, everyone.

I do have one more question (actually, it's a whole bunch of questions). It appears that Apple's default encoder is AAC instead of MP3. Why is this so? Is there something inherently superior about AAC encoding vs. popular MP3? Can an iPod also play AAC-encoded music files?

If I were to compare two files, both imported from the same song at 160 kbps with one in AAC and the other as an MP3, which would have larger file size? Or would they be the same?

7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member