HELP! New to Mac computing! Mac Mini, problem with software update facility

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by drpuk, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. drpuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #1
    Hello!

    I'm completely new to Macs... I've had my new Mac Mini for a few hours now and am trying to perform a software update via the system preferences panel. However, each time when the program says it's "checking for updates" it stalls when the blue bar reaches about a centimetre from the end... The position of the bar hasn't shifted for the past hour; it's still "checking for updates"! Can anybody suggest a remedy? My Mac Mini is the middle model...
     
  2. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
  3. drpuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #3
    Yep, i restarted a number of times before simply leaving it to see how long it would take to check for updates... Which it finally did having waited for over an hour! The updates were downloaded and installed without a hitch.

    However, i've run the updater yet again, and once again it is taking aa excruciating amount of time to check for updates! Does it normally take this long to check for updates? The mac is connected to the net via the wireless to an ADSL line at 8meg/sec......

    Can anybody suggest anything that might provide a solution to this problem? Maybe if i just clean-installed?
     
  4. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    Try hard-wiring the Mini with an ethernet cable and see if the problem continues. If it doesn't, then you know the wireless is what was causing the slow down.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
  6. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #6
    I have a somewhat similar problem.

    My updater works, but it does not check daily (which is what it is set for), so i have to click "check for updates" manually. A little bug, but i hope it is fixed soon.
     

Share This Page