Help newbie with Tiger clean install

Discussion in 'macOS' started by inlimbo, Aug 27, 2005.

1. inlimbo macrumors 6502

Jan 29, 2005
    Sydney, Australia

Ive been a switcher for about 6 months now and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience thus far. I bought Tiger the other day and went for the upgrade option because I thought that would be easiest and given my inexperience with the mac platform. But things have been going a little bit weird since the install. Im running 10.4.2. My PB has frozen a couple of times (spinning beachball - had to force quit), help doesn't seem to be working - I try and do a search for "smart folders" and it just searches and searches and doesn't stop??!?

So I figure I should just do a clean install. But I have never done this before so im looking for some advice.

1) If I do the clean install I have read that I will have to re-install the iLife apps like iTunes etc... Is that true? Will they be on one of the CDs that came with my Powerbook?

2) I know I will have to backup my files - but there aren;t that many. I have about 200 MBs of word docs, pdfs and pictures that I can easily copy to a flash drive (I dont have an external drive). But my music is going to be a major pain in the a***! I could just re-rip them all, but its so time consuming. I don't have many third party apps. Just M$ word, excel, powerpoint; firefox, gee gmail notifier. Can easily be reinstalled.

3) What about drivers and stuff? I mean when you re-install windows you have to find all those bloody drivers disks for monitors, graphics cards, modems, etc... Same thing for my PB? I know I will have to install drivers for my printer but thats the only external piece of hardware (besides iPod and digital camera) that I have.

4) Will I have to download and install all those bloody updates (security, iPhoto etc...) again?

Any thing else I should know?

Thanks in advance
    (a hesitant :eek: ) inlimbo...
  2. inlimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

Jan 29, 2005