HELP!!!! Please! (Graphics Problem on Need for Speed Carbon)

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rest44, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    rest44

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #1
    My need for speed carbon is mess up on my iMac! the grafics are alll fliped and mirrored!

    Does anyone know why is this?? Help apreciated! thanks
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    rest44

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #2
    Fixed!

    went to options menu and turn anti analising to on. I don´t know why the game messes up when anti analising is of. :x

    anyone knows?
     
  3. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    If you have an Intel iMac, I wouldn't be surprised if it has something to do with Rosetta.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    rest44

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #4
    you´re wrong. NFS Carbon is an intel only app, so it doesn´t use rosetta.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    I assumed carbon meant carbon as in the OS 9 / OS X shared API of old days, which would have been PowerPC only. I've never seen "carbon" used in a product name before.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    TIGOS

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, BR
    #6
    I have the same problem, but, don`t find this option in my game!


    Please, hep!
     
  7. macrumors member

    plokoonpma

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Panama, Central America
    #7
    fixing flipped screen

    Hi, thats a common thing, dont worry.

    i know its flipped and you have to deal with an inverted mouse action, but;

    1. in the main window, select options
    2. at the top in the rigth side select "advanced"
    3. scroll up like the third item and turn it on, 2x or 4x

    thats it, hope it helps you guys

    forgive my english, not my native.

    :D
     
  8. macrumors regular

    TIGOS

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, BR
    #8
    Very Thanks plokoonpma!!!

    When I to arrive in house will go to test.


    PS: My english is bad too :p (i`m brazilian, speak portuguese) :D
     
  9. macrumors regular

    TIGOS

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, BR
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #10
    NFS Carbon Crash

    Question: When I started my Career on NFS, my computer crashes like 30 seconds into the first tutorial/race. Anyone know why? I set my graphics pretty low but it still crashes. I have the new 15" MBP stock. Help please.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #11
    I also have the NSF:Carbon for mac and am trying to run on my 15" MBP with 246MB 8600GT graphics and 2.4GHZ. Same thing happens, about 30sec or less into the game at the same spot each time the game unexpectedly exits.

    Also, I think it's retarded that I paid good money for a game that doesn't support widescreen resolutions, and the graphics just don't look good (strange color patterns for reflections).
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #12
    NFSC Crash

    I was running the game from my laptop to my 24" display, but when I ran it straight from the laptop display, it worked. I still get some weird reflections, but it works. Not sure why it won't work when I connect to my display. Frame rate is pretty low and the game plays choppy. No widescreen support- not cool. Makes me wonder, should I even get the Madden 08 for mac?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    ATL
    #13
    i have the exact same problem... has anyone solved this? i just got the game & the people at Apple said it is the game, so they weren't much help. this sucks...

    there are a few other places it happens as well, but they obviously don't hinder game progress like the cutoff before the fountain in the tutorial, which is required!!!

    help please. :(
     
  14. macrumors member

    nc7r

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #14
    Is it doing this kind of stuff?

    [​IMG]

    I'm having real problems with it too. I'm on a 2.2ghz 2gb Ram Intel MacBook Pro and it's struggeling in Career mode, with nothing else open, to run! Quite annoying to be honest.

    I've got Anti-aliasing on 4x and the screen resolution on max - which is something like 1024 x 765 and I'm running an Apple 20" Monitor which is 1680x1050...
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    ATL
    #15
    yep, its doing that as well. even worse, honestly...
     
  16. macrumors member

    nc7r

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #16
    It's absolutely shocking to be honest.

    These game are expensive and meant to be 'specifically for mac' when they have such **** graphics like that it's just a joke isn't it.

    I'm running a laptop which is worth over £1200 and it still runs slowly - not happy. :mad:
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    ATL
    #17
    yep. first & last mac game for me... i'll be returning it, if i can get my money back. i'm always tempted to see if it 'finally works', & then of course it never does. :(
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    hey guys i have macbook! i dowloaded also nfs carbon! like i start (intro and that carbon movie) it is ok , bet when i gonna choose car and do some stuff the whole screen is just white! what could be the problem ?:mad:
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #19
    Fix by using config file from other EA game

    I have Tiger Woods 2008 for the mac, which works on my MacPro. I copied the config file in the /Library/Preferences folder for TW and pasted it in the NFSC preference folder. And, surprisingly, the game now works without the black screen.

    Hope this helps.

    Tung Nguyen
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #20
    same problem..

    I have same problem with upside down and mirrored view.

    But when I try to turn on anti-aliasing and press ESC (done), then there's nothing - whole screen is black.

    Music is playing but no video.


    Any suggestions? :confused:


    But if so..
    I could just turn upside down my iMac and put mirror to my iMac and I could play the game!
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #21
    Not fix for me.

    This did not fix my problem. The image was black, alone hears the audio one. I tried 2x and 4x, but it did not fix. Somebody can help me?

    I have one iMac 20"
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 1 GB DDR2 800mhz
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

    Thanks!
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    mmnz

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Nfs Carbon Mirrored Issue



    Hi, i have the same problem, i have the aluminium macboon 13.3 he 2.4 model.
    i installed the NFS but its mirrored and upside side down.
    Sound is fine and, screen color is perfect.
    I tried the anti alising function to 2 and 4 x but did not work for me, any suggestions, just write on my blog

    momin73.blogspot.com
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    #23
    @ tungster:
    Thanks a ton! I have Hitman Contracts which runs on my MBP and I did what you suggested!
    It is working now! :D
    All I have to see is whether the other problems, of crashing in the first 30 seconds doesn't show up!
    (Fingers crossed)

    I just registered with MacRumours to say thanks!
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    mmnz

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #24
    Nfs Carbon Mirrored Issue Resolved

    Finally some one has send me the right .conf file, which i replaced and all is well, NFS CARBON runs fine and there's no issue now.

    Anyone want the .conf file, email me.

    Regards,

    Momin

    my blog spot: http://momin73.blogspot.com/ the file is here get it and have fun
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #25
    hey, I also heve the same problem as the topic starter,...

    When i start up Need For Speed Carbon, it look's all turned on,...

    can somebody help me?

    (I also am not so good in English ;) )

    (or contact me @ veys@live.be )

    thanks,
    laurent
     

Share This Page