help please! gray screen!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dana.lee, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. dana.lee macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #1
    about ten minutes after i turn on my computer or wake it up from sleep mode, a gray filtery thing goes over my whole screen, everything freezes, and i have to hold in the power button to restart. sometimes the screen doesn't even go gray, it just freezes altogether. this morning i woke up and the fans were on really high. help!!!! :( :( :(
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Do you see this image?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #3
    yes, but sometimes it can't even fully load!!!
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    It's called a kernel panic. How long have you been getting them? Did they start after you installed any particular software and/or hardware?
     
  5. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #5
    i've only installed movies and music recently, and i've scanned them for viruses, if that helps? i just started getting them late last night and today.
     
  6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    ...but no new software was installed? What virus scanner are you using?

    How old is your system? Is it still covered by AppleCare?
     
  7. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #7
    no new software. version 10.4.8. powermac g5. no longer under warranty. i've had it for about a year.
    it usually does this while i'm running RealPlayer.

    oh, and i'm using norton.
     
  8. z00y0rk macrumors member

    z00y0rk

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island , New York. USA
    #8
    you can try deleting it and see if it still happens.
     
  9. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Well, I would quit (and possibly delete) RealPlayer and see if the problem persists.

    I would also stop using Norton for the time being. I've heard that certain versions can cause problems, and with OS X, you really don't need it.
     
  10. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #10
    Right, let me get this straight. You get the grey screen and after you manually restart the computer, it still does not load? Can you give us a few more details that might help narrow the problem.
     
  11. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #11
    so far so good with that; however, how would i play my .rmvb files? is there a way to convert them from real player files to .avi's or anything similar?

    i get a gray screen, so THEN i manually restart. then usually (but not always) when i'm using RealPlayer again, things freeze or the gray comes back.
     
  12. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    For now, I would just wait and see if RealPlayer is really the culprit - if you find that it is, then we can find a solution for your videos.
     
  13. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #13
    ok i deleted real player, and i haven't used it since i started posting, and i haven't had a grey screen in about 40 minutes? :rolleyes:

    i've got my fingers crossed.... crossed..... crossed
     
  14. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #14
    ok it happened again. it was while i had a quartz screensaver on, so i deleted the screensaver...
     
  15. chasemac macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #15
    What else do you have connected to your Mac? I would start by shutting the Mac down and unplug any external devices. Then unplug the Mac for about 15 seconds and then plug it back in. Then just plug in the monitor, keyboard & mouse. Start up and see if you get the panics again. If you do then it is most likely a hardware problem like RAM or video card. I had the same problem with my G5 and it was related to RAM. How much RAM is installed?
     
  16. dana.lee thread starter macrumors newbie

    dana.lee

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    philly
    #16
    okay i figured it out. i had norton automatically running full system virus scans every day (at least 2). and since they were unnecessary, it was freezing the machine. so to anyone who ever has this problem, just take the automated virus scans off your computer.

    thanks to everyone for all your help!!!
    :apple:
     
  17. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #17
    I've generally found that anti-virus programs cause more problems than they solve. This seems to confirm that hunch.
     

Share This Page