Help Please, OSX keeps turning blue

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Claymore, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. Claymore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    #1
    Hi, My Mac Mini arrived this morning, 1.42 with 256MB RAM, it’s the first time I’ve ever bought a Mac, OS X does seem very good, however after using it for a while the screen keeps going blank, well blue for a few seconds, fist this happened during minimizing/ maximizing of windows, during the animation, or playing dvd’s, but it seems to happen all the time now, moving the mouse, navigating finder or typing in word, its really annoying, can someone please help. Could it be that 256MB of ram is just not enough?
     
  2. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #2
    256MB RAM is well enough, Mac OS X requires 128MB minimum. I'd try zapping PRAM, its... google it. It may be Command+Option+P+R while you turn on your computer, let it reset 3 times and let OS X load. It could be a problem with your rez, the monitor your using, or video card issue. If those don't work, call Apple.
     
  3. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #3
    That sounds like a wierd GPU issue. I would call apple.
     
  4. Claymore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    #4
    The first thing i installed was the ATi control pannel from the ATi site, although it doesn't detect the GPU, mmm.. could that have something to do with it?, maybee not though
     
  5. Cuckoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands - Utrecht
    #5

    Installing a 3rd party tool like an ATi control panel could very well be the source of your weird problem. My expericence with a similar ATI tool on an Powemac G4 were about the same... <weird problems>

    So I would not rule it out so easely.
     
  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    Why?
     
  7. Claymore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    #7
    mmm.. my flat mates wanted to see what ATi controls were available on the mac, maybee wasn't a good idea putting it on, i have weird lines down my monitor as i'm typing this now, how to i get rid of the control pannel? I'm thinking i might just format later on today, and reinstall Mac OS, if that fails then i'm going to phone Apple

    also, i was looking at the activity monitor, is it normal to have about 4MB of freen memory? as that seems VERY low to me
     
  8. anjaki macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #8
    Before you do anything, open Disk Utility and repair the disk permissions, this alone solves a multitude of sins.
     
  9. Cuckoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands - Utrecht
    #9
    Try repairing permissions is never a bad idea, although it never solved an actual problem for me... there is no hurt in trying, and for some it made a difference. Then reinstalling the OS sertainly gets rid of any tool. If after a fresh install you still have this problem, then call apple...
     
  10. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    I had a similar problem once (I think) where the screen kept turning blue tinted, on a 6100. Turned out it was a bad monitor cable/plug. Although, if you are getting a completely blue screen, disregard what I said.
     
  11. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #11
    Ditch the ATI control panel and try swapping out the video cable, then the monitor (if you have access to another). If that doesn't isolate the problem, call Apple.
     
  12. PhantomOSX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I have had that happen to me more than once with my mini. It happens when the monitor plug is kind of loose from the mini, like if you don't screw it in and it comes out a little bit. Go ahead and take it out a little bit when your monitor is on and you should see it.
     
  13. GodBless macrumors 65816

    GodBless

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #13
    4 Megs of memory is low. Sort the Activity Monitor's tasks by memory amount and then see what application(s) is/are hogging the memory. If you are running too many applications at once then it looks like you need to upgrade to a higher amount of memory that will fit your needs better.

    I bet that the blank/blue screen problem is probably from a loose monitor connection. Be sure to plug your monitor in securely.

    Hope these tips help.
     

Share This Page