Help Please! Problem with WD MyBook Premium 320GB HDD & MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sonictonic, Mar 25, 2007.

1. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

I just bought a 320GB external MyBook Premium from Western Digital, and I'm trying to get it hooked up with the included firewire 400 cable.

The hard drive will NOT mount! :(

I don't understand why this is complicated. I've never used firewire before, but I understand about Firewire 400 and 800, and that my macbook has 400. So does this drive. So why won't the drive mount when I plug it in and turn it on?! :mad:

I rebooted, repaired permissions, and reset the PRAM. Nothing helped.

It seems to me from what I've researched the past hour, that many people have issues with firewire... so maybe I should just stick to USB 2.0?

Is the problem here most likely with the drive or my macbook's firewire port? I'm worried and I have no other firewire devices to test.

Just plugged it in with the USB cable and it mounts and works fine... but should I even use this drive with USB or is that risky since the drive might be faulty??

Can anyone help me with some good sensible advice on this? Thanks in advance :)

2. sonictonic thread starter macrumors 6502a

3. Leareth macrumors 68000

Leareth

If you do a google search on this brand of external HD you will see that numerous people have had problems with them especially when used with the new intel based macs. I would recommend returning to store and going with different model. despite it working with USB.

Firewire is usually straightforward - plug and play-.
    so what could be wrong:
    The firewire port on your mac might be hooped. does anything else firewire work in it?
    The firewire port on the drive might be hooped. see if ti connect via firewire to another computer.

4. PatrickF macrumors 6502