Help Please!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by k0rnyfr33k, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. k0rnyfr33k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #1
    Yes this is the first time this has occurred..
    I will tell you what happened... Here i go
    Ok tonight i sent an im over aim to somebody and they said i sent a link which i didnt and i send another im to another person and they also said i sent a link which i didnt. So i dont know what this is, is it a trojan horse, a virus, or just a worm? I would think it would be a trojan horse. But i asked them what did the link say and they sent it back to me but it didnt register. And she told me that she sent it... Andi didnt think about it being a virus/trojan/worm untill she exited out of the window. Well i asked her what the link was and she said she didnt know. So it i told her if she gets the link again just send it back to me with out the .com so it wouldnt be a link. I am worried that i got one b/c this is the first time this has happened to me since i had my expensive iMac. I am running a mac os x version 10.3.9. And i ran a virus scan for my apps with ClamXav so far there hasnt been a virus detected. Can someone PLEASE help me becuase when i tell my dad he is going to kill me if i dont fix it....

    Thx alot, Robby
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    1) Make your thread titles relevant to your question, this is the 2178th thread titled "Please help"

    2) We can't help you if you write an incoherent account, and do not provide us with any usable details. Sorry.
     
  3. k0rnyfr33k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #3
    ok what is that supposed to mean? What else more do you want?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Ok look -- when i read your account, it seems to boil down to:

    Using an IM program you sent something, and twice, the recipients have claimed that there was a link (a URL presumably) somewhere (in the message? in an attachment? We don't know) although you can't say what link, or where.

    An anti-virus program says you don't have a virus.
    You want to know if you have a virus. Probable answer - No.

    You want to know how to fix it. Impossible for us to say because you have given us nothing to work with.
     
  5. k0rnyfr33k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #5

    Ok if the url pops up again and sends i will post it. So you have somthing to work with but do you guys know of any viruses/trojans/worms that will do this? Because i know there is not a lot of them in macs
     
  6. pseudobrit macrumors 68040

    pseudobrit

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Jobs' Spare Liver Jar
    #6
    There are none of them in Macs.
     
  7. k0rnyfr33k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #7

    Are you sure? Then what are the possible reasons that my messanger is doing this? Oh yea i left out one detail sry about this it might be helpful i am using Adium X .87...
     
  8. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    There could be a weakness in the IM network itself, allowing spoofing attacks. I believe there are still outstanding issues with that on MSN, for one. The message may not have originated on your machine at all. It could even have originated on the other person's machine.
     
  10. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    Yeah, cross posting.
    But someone already told you about that.

    On the other side of things, take it easy on this kid guys. But I would imagine he is overreacting because he's afraid of his Dad getting mad, which my advice in the other thread of his is just say nothing is wrong. Remember, usually the kids know more about the computer than their parents (growing up for me that was the case).

    Korn Freak , in the future just relax and tell us what is going on. No need to get exclamatory!!!!! about it. Believe me, people here will help you very quickly, but you just need to relax, cause us Mac people, we're chill, laid back individuals. We don't like exclamation marks (perhaps I'm speaking for myself on that one).
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    [​IMG]


    Are you running in the default administrator account? Did you download a file and have to enter your password a few times? :)
     
  12. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    yeah but, no but, yeah but had to laugh
     
  13. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    i highly doubt any trojan/virus or whatever you want to call it will affect both mac and windows. You might have it, but if it was an IM virus, then it wouldn't spread or do anything bad to your computer. your windoze friends should be worrying. your fine.
     
  14. pseudobrit macrumors 68040

    pseudobrit

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Jobs' Spare Liver Jar
    #14
    Short answer: your messenger isn't likely doing anything. I'll bet dollars to donuts it's something on the network or something on the other users' computers.

    The proof-of-concept "virus" that's out there virtually runs on the honor system and doesn't send links to people, it sends a file AND it opens iChat to do this. Furthermore, no one is going to write a Mac virus that opens shareware with such a small installed base like Adium.
     
  15. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Did you download anything from a P2P site or anything or a wierd website? Or go to a wierd website. Macs dont get "viruses", as of yet, but they are vunerable to malicious code and stuff. I remember one time I tried to watch a video that i download from the internet once and it kept opening safari. Again it was just malicious code, deleted the file and didnt open it again, restarted and all was fine.
     
  16. Seasought macrumors 65816

    Seasought

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #16
    What IM client are you using (iChat, Adium, etc,.)?
     
  17. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #17
    Arguing with people who are trying to help you does not help.

    Your premise is faulty: "Something is happening on my friend's machine so it must be a virus on my Mac."

    A virus/trojan on your Mac is the least likely explanation.
    More likely: the effect on your friends is unrelated to your message or your Mac.
    What OS and IM client are they using?
    Get them to take a screenshot.
    Was the URL in side your message?
    Was it added by their IM client? or adware on their machine? Or a virus on their machine?
    Are you or they using a free IM client that is "ad supported" and may be adding advertising links?

    As stated earlier, the rule would be: Do not grant password permission to anything unless you know you are installing software on purpose.

    Here is a link about the only trojan horse/worm program we know about.

    There was an earlier question whether you are running your user account with Administrator priviledges. Search the forums for recent threads on reducing the priviledges of your main account so that you have to switch users in order to install anything. This insulates your applications from being affected by any process launched under your normal user.

    Here is the short version, posted by impaler: "All you do is create a second account under your primary account, then disable admin for your current account (it's just checking the "Allow User to Administer This Computer" box. Then close all the dialog boxes, and hit the lock icon. Now, try to do something as an admin and you shouldn't be able to, without using hte new account name and password you created."
     
  18. k0rnyfr33k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #18

    The only thing i downloaded Yesterday thats right before this happened was some adium thing to cutomize it... And yes my acccount was an Administrators account that i had to type in the password to download it.
     

Share This Page