HELP! Powerbook keeps freezing, now it won't restart

Discussion in 'macOS' started by supersalzme, May 13, 2006.

  1. supersalzme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #1
    Ok so I was just surfing the web, and all the sudden my computer freezes. It comes up with this black sort of box that says I must restart my computer by holding down the power button or the restart key. So, I do what it says...and now my computer won't boot up. It either freezes right away, or gives me that same pop up screen...and booting up takes forever. What's wrong? Hellllppp. This has been my first problem with my computer and I have had it since the 1st of the year.
     
  2. Eluon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #2
    if you put your install cd in, boot the computer up and hold the "C" key, you can run some diagnostics on the hard drive.

    My MBP 15 inch's hard drive just went out. I've only had it a month or so and the hard drive died. It was acting the same way yours is. Might be the hard drive, but I'm certainly no expert.
     
  3. supersalzme thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #3
    What happened when your hard drive went out? What did apple do?
     
  4. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #4
    If it's under warranty, they legally have to replace it with no problems.
     
  5. supersalzme thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
  6. supersalzme thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #6
    Ackk...I have so many college papers/notes/music on my computer. If my hard drive fails, I'm screwed.
     
  7. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  8. supersalzme thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #8
    OSX? Will I lose any files if I do that?
     
  9. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    You'll loose everything, back it up (if you can) and nuke your drive! Unless, Kernal Panics sometimes happen with a malfunction in RAM, have you put new ram in? Or ave you added any new hardware?
     

Share This Page