Help!!! Powermac G5 Won't boot up

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GlynJones, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. GlynJones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #1
    Well my powermac arrived today. It's a refurb one and to start with the front base arch was bent. Apple said they would give me my money back put I thought I'd keep it.

    Booted up and attached my Powerpook backup drive so that I could migrate/upgrade from another Mac. All went well until it rebooted.

    It now keeps coming up with an error and the open CD-Rom button is not working so I can restore OSX.

    If I could just get the Recovery CD up and boot from it then that would get me started.

    Please help. I'm not having a good day. :(
     
  2. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #2
    Sounds like you got a dud. :(

    Call Apple Support. :(
     
  3. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #3
    I'm sure they didn't send it out like that. Sounds like shipping/packing damage! Just exchange it for another refurb.
     
  4. GlynJones thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #4
    Right. I've got the CD in but it will not boot from the CD. I've held down the C key but it still boots from the hard drive.

    Anyone?
     
  5. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    sounds like a bad PowerMac.. call Apple and get it fixed! ;)
     
  6. GlynJones thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #6
    It looks like it was the Recovery CD. I put the Tiger CD in as it was a drop in copy (Thanks Apple) and it's installing from that.

    I'll let you know how i get on.
     
  7. GlynJones thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #7
    Up on Tiger now. Still undecided what to do about the machine wether to get a refund or stick with it.

    The problem was caused by copying from my old machine. I did it twice with the same result. Will just have to set it up manually. Should not take me too long if I decide to keep it.

    Most people think I should get rid but I saved over £500 on new. The only problem is a dent on the case foot arc and some grubby fingerprints inside the machine which will not come off.

    So what should I do. I have a working machine now but should I keep it?
     

Share This Page