Help recovering disk

Discussion in 'macOS' started by icecavern, Apr 30, 2005.

1. icecavern macrumors regular

I got my tiger disc yesterday so bought a USB2 160gb WD drive to back up all my data. I partitioned it into two drives and copied all my stuff onto the first drive.

Did a format and install and all was good, I copied my mail off the USB drive but then needed to print something out. I installed the print driver I used under panther but nothing prints even though OSX seems to think everythign is ok.

I then pulled out the usb cable for the USB drive and not the printer, and now I've lost my drive :(

I've tried the disc utils which says the disc needs repairing, but when I try to repair the disc all I get is...

Can anyone help shed some light on how to fix this? I've basically lost my backup and that include loads of files used for the day to day running of my website and all my pictures etc.

Pete :( :(

2. Thomas Veil macrumors 68020

Thomas Veil

I'm no expert, but I will tell you that the "keys out of order" is an ominous sign. Had that problem once with Jaguar -- not during an install or anything, it just happened -- and it took DiskWarrior to fix it.

3. icecavern thread starter macrumors regular

I've looked up disc warrior and noticed they don't do a Tiger version yet so I'l still stuffed :(

4. Thomas Veil macrumors 68020

Thomas Veil

Well, I'd do two things:

(1) Wait a bit for someone else to respond. Believe me, there are plenty of smart MR members, and someone might have another suggestion.

(2) If all else fails, wipe your HD and reinstall Panther. Then try to run repairs on the drive again. If you still have a problem (and I suspect you might), then you can go to DiskWarrior.