Help! Software not working any more

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by colinet, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I have an image database called Art Explosion Photo Object (formerly Hemera).
    I use it ALL THE TIME for reference material for my children's book illustrations.
    I bought a Mac Mini with SnowLeopard just to run this database as it needs classic mode so won't work on Lion or later. It worked fine, but now won't any more.
    I'm not a programmer, but I think I have worked out what the problem is. When I run it, the first image that come up say it is 'Contacting the server to determine if any updates are available' then it quits and shows a report of the screen. I've checked and Hemera is no more - I assume it was still there when the program was working.
    I'm not looking for any updates, I just want to access the 150,000 images I've already got. How do I make it work without it trying to go online and crashing when it can't find hemera.com? I've tried disconnecting all web access, but that hasn't worked.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    "I bought a Mac Mini with SnowLeopard just to run this database as it needs classic mode so won't work on Lion or later."

    Just to clarify, I don't believe Snow Leopard (OS 10.6) can run Classic.

    I believe the last Mac OS that could support Classic was 10.4 (Tiger).

    Others will jump in and clarify if I'm mistaken.

    Which version of the OS (number, please!) are you running?
     
  3. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    were you running it on another computer before? what os version?
     
  4. dZp
    macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #4
    You have correctly assessed the problem. Hemera's server is no more, therefore the check for update fails. It is piss-poor programming for all users who paid for this to lock them out of their purchased app.

    2 options I see:
    - convert all the hpi graphic files with GraphicConverter.
    - hack the executable to bypass the check for update (unless there's already a setting in the app's Preferences to disable it).
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I know how to convert the images - tried with a few. BUT there is no way to identify what file is what image and life's too short to go through 150000 images every time you're looking for something!!
    Hacking the executable is what I was hoping someone could do. It's certainly beyond my abilities. Can't get into the preferences as the program crashes!!

    ----------

    I've had it running on THIS computer with Snow Leopard. The only difference I can think of is the Hemera site closing down. I've re-installed everything to how it was when it did work - no luck.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #6
    Have you tried to turn the internet off, when you are lucky then it cannot look for updates and will not run into the crash ...
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Tried that - it didn't help - this is really bad programming by arrogant Hemera programmers who assumed they would be there forever!!
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Snow Leopard - 10.6 - Actually Snow Leopard Server as the Mac mini I got new at a bargain basement price was actually the server version. NOT the server software at fault as I installed the regular Snow Leopard on the second drive. It used to run on both, now on neither.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #9
    If the crash is caused by the connection failure, maybe the program won't crash if it connects to a random web server even if that server doesn't provide the expected update services. There's a trick to force the software to connect to a server of your choice. The problem is you need to guess what server the software is trying to connect (maybe the crash report has a hint?)

    The simplest way is to enable the local web server in your sharing preferences, edit your /etc/hosts file and point the server name to your own computer (i.e. 127.0.0.1).

    The line you need to modify usually looks like this:

    Code:
    # /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1	localhost
    
    You want to change it to something like this:

    Code:
    # /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1	localhost hemera.com www.hemera.com update.hemera.com updates.hemera.com
    
    If you don't know exactly the subdomain, you may try to guess and write several possibilities, as shown above. To edit the /etc/hosts file you need administrator privileges. TextEdit is not good to edit configuration files, so this is usually done through the command line. If you are not comfortable with the command line, you may try another editor such as TextWrangler, which will prompt you for your administrator password as needed.
     
  10. colinet, Oct 15, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Thank you so much for your help. I'll have a go at this later today - still sort of working in the dark as I'm not into programming or the command line etc.

    I might be able to get the info of where the file is looking from the error report when it crashes?

    I'll play with it later, but I might have to get back to you again!!
     
  11. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #11
    You would be surprised how many programmers make this assumption.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Location:
    Och Aye The Noo
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #13
    Another thing you may try is edit the preferences file. With a bit of luck, it will be human readable and it will contain some obvious text like "Automatic updates: YES" where you can simply replace the YES with a NO. Preferences files are usually located in the folder "Library / Preferences" under your home folder, and most of them are named after the program, so you should look for a preferences file containing "Photo Object" in its name.

    As before, my suggestion is quite vague because I don't have the program and cannot test it, but these are the kind of things I would first try if I had the same problem.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Good suggestion, but I suspect it might be optimistic!! I'll see if there is a prefs file there.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #15
    The solution is the hosts file mod

    The solution offered by Member(TM) is the answer. I tested this today by monitoring the connections attempted by the app using Wireshark. It attempts to do a DNS lookup for www.hemera.com which of course fails. Once I added the www.hemera.com entry to the hosts file against the 127.0.0.1 entry and saved the file, the app launches properly! I checked the settings in the app, there is no option to disable the update, so this is our only solution - but at least it works. Big relief.

    Plenty of blogs out there explaining how to edit your hosts file, just add the following line:
    127.0.0.1 www.hemera.com

    Hope that helps

     
  16. colinet, Jan 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    Tried adding/editing the host file, but it's made no difference at all. Still won't run Snow Leopard on a Mac Mini.

    My workaround is rubbish, but it does work - eventually - click to run then when it quits, click on 'Reopen' which never works first time. Hold enter key down with sliver of cardboard jammed down the side and go back to work on my MacPro. Eventually it works - could take up to 100 retries!! but once it's running, it works fine - obviously something to do with timing, just catching it at the right moment or whatever. A better solution would be great, but at least I can access Photo Objects!
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    #17
    The solution is the hosts file mod

    I can confirm that the solution posted by Member(TM) does work.
    All you have to do is edit your /etc/hosts file.
    You will need to use the terminal and use the sudo command with an administrator account to be able to change it.
     

Share This Page