HELP! Stuck in the middle of Parallels install

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Carpediem68, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. Carpediem68 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I'm trying to get Parallels installed and I've run into a glitch. When formatting the drive during windows install windows xp gives me an error that the drive c is the wrong format and asks me to format a new drive. I do NOT want to screw up my wonderful mac. The explanation is not cut and paste able but it generally says ...

    "Setup is unable to format the partition. The disk may be damaged.

    blah blah blah

    You may select a different partition for windows xp press enter to continue."

    Can anyone help me? Sitting here looking for responses.

    Thanx

    David
     
  2. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #2
    What version are you using, and can you grab a screen shot? Also, what settings did you choose for the disk setup? Amd - what are you installing it on - give your mac specs. The more info you can supply, the better the chances of getting a fix.

    I have installed numerous virtual machines and have never seen this.
     
  3. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #3
    I have a macbook pro 17" ... brand new. Installing windows xp professional.

    Two days ago I tried to install boot camp but my windows xp disc was an OEM disc which I didn't realize can't be installed on another machine. So I bought a new license for xp and now I see this.

    I uninstalled boot camp after I removed the xp partition and I bought parralels .. I'm wondering if that is the problem ... that it still sees the partition. Its showing the capacity of my 160 gb drive as 148 gb .. does that reflect an existing bootcamp partition?

    I'm not sure how to take a screen shot .. new to Mac .. sorry can you tell me how?
     
  4. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #4
    BTW I just used the recommended setting .. perhaps that was a mistake
     
  5. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #5
    Also, SHould I use the Beta Parallels? Some people seem to recomend it but I just want it stable.
     
  6. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #6
    Boot camp won't have anything to do with this. Does it actually start the "formatting" process? When you run Parallels and install XP, Parallels is only creating a normal file under Mac OS X, and then the program makes it look like a partition to Windows. Go through the steps as if you have a brand spanking new disk. I don't remember the default size, but before you go through the activation process, make sure you have created your Windows partition large enough. One quick word here - if you tell Parallels to make it, say 30GB, and make it an extendable disk, then it will start out small and grow as it needs space.

    Also - upgrade to the latest RC1 when you get a chance - it rocks.
     
  7. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #7
    It actually starts formatting and then stops and gives me the error. How do I take a screen shot?

    God I hate windows.
     
  8. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #8
    I tried as both FAT and NTFS and with the quick format it goes 0% then jumps to 100% and then gives me the following error ..

    SETUP WAS UNABLE TO FORMAT THE PARTITION. THE DISK MAY BE DAMAGED.

    MAKE SURE THE DRIVE IS SWITCHED ON AND PROPERLY CONNECTED TO YOUR COMPUTER. IF THE DISK IS A SCSI DISK, MAKE SURE YOUR SCSI DEVICES ARE PROPERLY TERMINATED. CONSULT YOUR COMPUTER MANUAL OR SCSI ADAPTER DOCUMENTATION FOR MORE INFORMATION

    YOU MUST SELECT A DIFFERENT PARTITION FOR WINDOWS XP. TO CONTINUE PRESS ENTER.

    Hope that helps :)
     
  9. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #9
    The disc that I *think* parallels is creating is ...



    7994 MB Disk 0 at Id 0 on bus 0 on atapi (MBR)

    C: Partition1 (New <Raw>)


    Sorry to be such a dolt
     
  10. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #10
    First - have you restarted your system after installing Parallels? That has solved some problems for me.

    Second - run the check permissions and make sure all is in good order.

    Lastly, go back and edit the disk setup and create a new file to see if that gets you any further. Make the size bigger or something so the file has to be created anew.

    (Screenshots are done with the Grab program - in your utilities folder in your applications area)
     
  11. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #11
    or, just hit command :)apple: ) shift 4 and than spacebar and clcik on the window, youll find the file on the desktop.
     
  12. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #12
    Here is a Pic. I've rebooted and at this point pulling my hair out ... wondering if I should return parallels and go with boot camp. Ugg
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #13
    another pic
     

    Attached Files:

  14. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #14
    Did you re-size the disk in the setup for your virtual machine?

    And what do the screens prior to this error show?
     
  15. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #15
    and another shot ... I put it up to 12 gb

    All the prior screens seemed to be a normal windows setup.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #16
    And what did you do at this screen?

    EDIT: The one showing the partitions - Press C to create, etc...
     
  17. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #17
    I tried create and it gives me the question .. ntfs or fat, etc... I choose one and it starts and goes back to the error message ..

    I DID NOT click delete partition because I'm afraid I'll jack up my mac.

    BTW ... thanks for being so responsive

    David
     
  18. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #18
    You are welcome - watching UCLA and Oregon while I'm posting!

    Try deleting the partition and then creating a new one - you are only working with a file that Parallels is creating - not a real partition on your disk. Only Parallels (and eventually XP) will see it as a partition. I don't think you will harm the mac.

    Or create a new disk in Parallels in a different location. I can't believe you have a bad spot on your mac drive, but anything is possible.
     
  19. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #19
    Okay ... trying that. Everyone at my office thinks I'm crazy buying a mac but I love it ... I really want parallels to work so I can watch their jaws drop
     
  20. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #20
    two more screen shots .. same problem over and over

    is it possible my disc is bad?

    I'm about ready to surrender and go with boot camp
     

    Attached Files:

  21. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #21
    Did you buy Parallels at a store? If you did, go to their web site and download the latest. If not, what version are you running (Parallels)?
     
  22. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #22
    Bought at a store but ran updater before starting and it said I had most recent version. Build 1970


    downloading parallels release candidate now .. maybe that will fix things.

    Seems like these things are always difficult for me. Ugg
     
  23. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #23
    I've got a couple of encrypted drives ... wonder if that is the cause
     
  24. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #24
    AHA! That may be it. I did a quick search on the forums there but nothing glaring turned up. Maybe someone else on the board has some insight on this.

    Is there a reason you are running encrypted drives?
     
  25. Carpediem68 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #25
    yup ... I'm a lawyer .. if this laptop got in the wrong hands there is very confidential data on it
     

Share This Page