Help system not working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jimmah, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. jimmah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #1
    I recently upgraded from 10.3.9 to Tiger and now my help system isn't working, it just hangs when searching for a help topic. Any ideas why it is doing this and is there a solution?
     
  2. inlimbo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    Hi. I also had this problem and found a solution only the other day. It was posted in a thread here the other day.

    Basically download Onyx from versiontracker. Have a look at the thread it explains what to do. Onyx will solve the problem

    Please do a search before u post.
     
  3. jimmah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #3
    I tried that with no success, the help system still hangs while searching for a topic.

     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Has nothing on inlimbo's linked thread worked though? What have you tried so far? :)
     
  5. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #5
    If you did an Upgrade and Install, thats probably the reason why. About 50% of the time when you do an upgrade and install, it doesn't make your Mac very stable. I would back everything up (Which you should have done before the upgrade) and do an erase and install. I know you will lose your programs and other stuff, but its the best way to make absolutely sure that your system is working reliably. Upgrade and installs are a terrible option, even on the Windows side. Some people can get it to work and work reliably, but most can't.
     
  6. jimmah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #6
    Firstly I went to delete the files mentioned in that thread but they didn't seem to be there! Then I used Onyx Maintenance tool to reset the help with no luck either. I did do the upgrade so might have to consider a clean install.

     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Yeah, sorry jimmah but I can't think of anything else you can do. A fresh install will speed things up (slightly) and you'll be practically guaranteed a fully working/clean system. If you've got the time and the patience to back everything up (which you really should be doing anyway) then I say go for it. :)
     

Share This Page