Help Testing a Gaming Site

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gamesport, Dec 26, 2005.

  1. gamesport macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #1
    Hi, folks, our site just moved to a different server, on the previous one, Mac users couldn't view videos, because of mime type limitation for that server. On this one, we are trying to see what particular mimes work with Macs/safari(or any mozzilla browser)

    http://www.ctennis.com/index.php?option=com_ctmedia&Itemid=42

    on that page, there are 5 test videos [test video 1- 5 ] that have a "coming soon" pic on them, if you guys could help me test all five of them and let me know which ones work, so i know which windows media redirectors that i use when posting videos. all help is appreciated, thanks
     
  2. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    1 and 2 don't load Windows Media Player.
    3 Loads WMP but doesn't play.
    4 and 5 load WMP but give a "Cannot play file. Please validate path." error.

    MPGs or MP4s might be a more cross-platform compatible format that would be easier to work with.
     
  3. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #3
    thanks for your help, Could you help me try video number 3 on firefox?
     
  4. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    I tested them again in Firefox and Safari:

    1, 2 and 3 actually do work...they just don't have a display to show that they are buffering and take 30 seconds or so to buffer, a time during which nothing is happening, so I thought they didn't work. 1 and 2 took a couple open and closes of the popup window for them to load WMP, not sure why though.

    4 and 5 don't work, same situation as before.
     
  5. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #5
    Oh shoot, dude thanks, i really didnt expect 5 to work, (iffy on 4 ) although they do work on firefox for people on PC's running windows, i am glad you said 1,2, and 3 did work, sorry about the buffering thing, i will look for a way to add that (if there is any)

    as to the thing about opening and closing the pop-up window, it might be you Video Acceleration setting for window media, which you can adjust by:

    Right Click on the Video, and go to Options, and then click the Advanced tab, and then you might have to reduce the acc for the vid the load easy

    thanks again man
     
  6. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #6
    i would definitely fix the videos so that something is happening in the window for people to show something is working. Seeing as it has been like 45 seconds on my computer for video 3 and nothing has happened at all.

    And also are you asking for help with Mac browsers then giving windows instructions on how to change settings for us :confused: :eek:
     
  7. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    As far as I know WMP for Mac has no fancy features, so that won't work...I think it might be a stupid Safari thing making the windows not load right. The Mac version of WMP is historically awful.
     
  8. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #8
    which is why i wonder why anyone ever uses WMP files on the internet. Seeing as Quicktime for Windows is a million times better than WMP is for Mac.

    Kinda makes zero sense in my mind to use something that basically shuts out a lot of users instead of using something that would work for everyone.
     
  9. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #9
    well the problem is that most pc users dont want to be bothered, (believe it or not) by a gaming site, telling them to install quicktime, or any other software on their pc, lol, even some ones that i know don't even want to install real media, so that is the problem we are facing, they rather use the player that comes with the Operating system. i am looking for a way to satisfy everybody, leaving nobody behind
     
  10. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #10
    seeing as i have yet to meet a person that has a PC that doesn't have quicktime on their computer, i don't see this as a problem.

    On my website every single file on it that I put up is AAC, not MP3.

    And who the hell wants to install real media on their computer is beyond me, i wouldn't touch that program with a 10 foot pole.
     
  11. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    In defense of many people, WMP for windows is a pretty slick program, and for oblivious people it makes sense to put streaming content on it, because everyone in the world has a PC....right?
     
  12. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #12
    well you might need to go out more often then, <--joking

    but seriously, you probably meet those people that are more into codecs, try different players, and stuff like that, thats why you hardly meet people who don't have quicktime on their pc's. as for aac, window media can read that as well.

    again most windows users dont bother installing 3rd party players on their pcs
     
  13. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #13
    sucks for those wanting to buy from iTMS, as i prefer the quicktime playing video than iTunes playing video.

    But to each their own i guess.
     
  14. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #14
    Ok guys i added the Status bar, that shows buffering and stuff, let me know what you think :)
     
  15. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    They give me a Playlist Format Unrecognized error now. Maybe you enabled some sort of windows only feature?
     
  16. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #16
    Could you try again, please for video 1,2, and 3 , esp. 3
     
  17. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    They work now, but there isn't any status bar.
     
  18. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #18
    hmmm, i am trying to figure out what lets me use the status bar, but doest mess up the code for macs,

    right now the status bar is showing for when i use firefox and Opera on my pc, will let you know, but thanks for all the help though :cool:
     
  19. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #19
    Ok changed a few things, if you can give 'em one last try, thanks again!
     
  20. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    They all work fine now, and seem to load faster (that could be caching, not sure), but there isn't any status bar.

    Your best bet here might be to just include a message in the popup window:

    "Please be patient while content buffers." or something to that extent.
     
  21. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #21
    1,2,and 3 load fine after they go play then pause play then pause by themself then they play.
     
  22. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #22
    i just read something on microsoft page

    i think i was missing the "Filename" tag, i just put that back in, if you could do for one last try :eek:
     
  23. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #23
    No change. 4 and 5 give a error about finding the file.
     
  24. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    Same situation for me.
     
  25. gamesport thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #25
    Ok added a few things, if this doesn't show the status bar at the bottom of the page, then i might have to use something esle to let people know, that it is buffering.

    could you please try again for vids 1, 2, and 3, last try (promise) ;)

    http://www.ctennis.com/index.php?option=com_ctmedia&Itemid=42

    vids 4 and 5 are pretty much messed up (no hope for them)
     

Share This Page