Help Viewer killed... by macromedia?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by enoch, Apr 19, 2005.

  1. enoch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #1
    Hi.

    My Help Viewer doesnt seem to work anymore. I had this on my old eMac, and the only common thing is that I have installed Dreamweaver on both. Does anyone know if Dreameaver eats the Help Viewer files for OS X?

    Safari and iTunes help files are okay. Do I have to strip away the Dreamweaver help files? How would I do that?
     
  2. HexMonkey Administrator

    HexMonkey

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    There's a reasonably common bug in Help Viewer that can cause it to not display help and/or unexpectedly quit. This can be fixed by deleting the files and folders listed below. It may not be the same problem, but it's worth a go.

    • ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.help.plist
    • ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.helpui.plist
    • ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.helpviewer.plist
    • ~/Library/Caches/com.apple.helpui/
     
  3. breadiu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Louisville
    #3
  4. enoch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    ... damn you Flash!

    So, the answer is, it's not anything to do with my system, my helpfiles or even (remotely) my fault.

    It's Flash's dependancy on Opera for showing help files. This therefore breaks OS X help.

    Way to go Macromedia! Big up Flash!

    I'll sit here and be bitter for a while.
     
  5. geese macrumors 6502a

    geese

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Ah!, thats how you fix it! That has been annoying me for a very long time.

    That has got to be the most stupidest bit of application design since the Active Desktop on Windows ME.

    I hope Adobe severely beats the people responsible.
     
  6. enoch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    worst case scenario

    The worst case scenario is that Adobe keep macromedia's inept style of programming. Imagine if Photoshop had this effect on every system...
     
  7. geese macrumors 6502a

    geese

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7

    Yes, but Adobe arent that stupid.

    I'd be happy if they just fixed the myrad of bugs in the Mac version of Flash to be honest.
     

Share This Page