Help w/ router and Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Masterc583, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. Masterc583 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    #1
    I have been using a Linksys Wireless B router since April of 2004 and up until Thursday of last week, it worked great for me, over 2 years.

    I get home Thursday afternoon and boom, it doesnt work at all. I dont have extensive experience with Macintoshes b/c i prefer to use my PC, but the cable modem is closest to the Mac, so thats why the router is connected to the Mac. Anyways, I have tried everything, Ive called My ISP and had them reset my modem, didnt work, I called Linksys and I got a big fat, we dont have Mac help answer after waiting on the phone for 40 mins.

    I dont have the money to go buy a WRT54G right now, otheriwse I would just go get a new one. Does anyone have an idea as to why my router just stopped working. The power light is still lit, the wireless B light is still lit and when i connect from the modem the Internet light is blinking. I have no idea what the problem is.

    Any help is greatly appreciated, I miss playing FFXI, lol. :confused:
     
  2. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #2
    try changing the security to 'WEP 40/128bit-hex'
     
  3. Masterc583 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    #3
    What will that do and where do I go to change the security?
     
  4. Kelmon macrumors 6502a

    Kelmon

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    The first thing that is worth trying, if not already done, is to simply turn off the router, give it a few seconds, and then turn it back on again. It may also not be a bad idea to do this to your modem first.

    The next question that I'd have is, how is the Mac connected to the router? Wired or wireless? If it is a wired connection, can the Mac connect to the Internet? If the Mac is connected by a wired connection and it can't connect to the Internet even after the router has been reset then I would suspect that the router is shagged. This can be further proven by connecting the Mac directly to the modem and being able to connect to the Internet since that would definitely identify the router itself as being the problem.

    If the Mac can connect via the router using a wired connection, make a note of the IP address assigned by the router by opening System Preferences > Network - the panel that appears should tell you the IP address that you are connected with. Once this has been done, on one of the problem PCs open the Command Prompt (Start > Run > "cmd") and enter the command "ipconfig". This program will tell you your IP address and, if the PC is connected "correctly" to the router then it should have almost the same IP address as the Mac. For example, if the Mac's IP address was 123.456.789.002 and the PC's IP address was 123.456.789.003 then that would be a good result. If, on the otherhand, the PC had an IP address like 987.654.321.001 then that's bad since the PC was not able to receive an IP address from the router and so it made one up.

    Write back with your results from this and I may be able to look further into the problem.
     
  5. Masterc583 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    #5
    I really appreciate the repsonses, but I think you are right when you said the router is "shagged". Im typing this and my other entries from the same Mac with a direct connection from my cable modem.

    I tried turning everything off, giving it about 30 seconds and reconnecting everything and I got the same result. I wrote down the IP adress and went to run, typed in "cmd", typed "ipconfig" and it says Media State;Media Disconnected.

    Ill just have to buy a new router and hope that it works, I dont want to go in and change something, not knowing the outcome and not be able to change it back lol.

    Thanks
    Charles
     
  6. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    i believe routers just "die" sometimes. i had a router for about 3 years or so, and one day boom! no power or nothing. hasn't worked since. i just had to buy a new one
     
  7. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #7
    My router started dying on me a few months ago. My little Netgear.

    So I took it outside and stamped up and down on it, after being disconnected every 5mins for almost 3 weeks (I kept putting off buying a new one)
     
  8. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.

Share This Page