Help - want to record TV from antenna reception

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by AtmChm, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    #1
    Hardware: Mac Mini 2.4 GHz core 2 duo, Elgato EyeTv Hybrid 2008

    I have been able to record TV from a charter cable connection just fine, but would like to 'cut the cable' and just go with an antenna.

    Swapped the cable cord for an RCA antenna. We get several digital channels just fine on the TV. However, the Elgato software says the signal is 0% from the same connection. I tried a couple of different "amplifiers" in line, with improvement in signal. We even tried an "HDTV" antenna (one of those flat square things), and that signal was worse on the TV.

    Any help on how I solve this?? I mean, we get great picture quality with the antenna connected to our Sony Bravia TV, but when the antenna is connected to the EyeTV, there is no signal at all.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    Should work - are you following these steps?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    #3
    Yes, followed all that exactly. Also, when I go into preferences and select device, then signal it shows both strength and quality as 0%. Moving the antenna and/or using a signal amplifier did nothing.

    I've e-mailed Elgato tech support a couple of days ago, but have gotten no replay at this point.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #4
    I assume you did a channel scan?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    #5
    Yes, with zero channels found.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #6
    I bought an EyeTV Hybrid in 2009 and it failed after a little bit of use, it wouldn't find channels or show any signal strength IIRC. I had a friend try it on their mac and they confirmed the problem. I got it replaced by the supplier and had no problem since.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    #7
    OK, well, the thing that is strange is that the EyeTV hybrid get a signal from the cable TV connection, but not from the TV antenna. So, I think the EyeTV hybrid is working. However, when I plug the TV antenna into the TV, I get a clear signal on several channels, so, I'm just wondering - does the EyeTV need a stronger signal than my Sony TV does to get a picture? As I mentioned above, even when using a signal amplifier, the EyeTV comes up with zero signal. Or, if I get a signal from the antenna on the TV, should the EyeTV also be able to get a signal?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    #8
    Problem solved!

    I ended up calling Elgato tech support this afternoon. They were not sure what the problem could be either after several checks of different things. But then the tech had me download a utility to remove EyeTV software completely, reboot and then download the latest version from their website. After doing that, the autotune found all the digital channels we have and all is working perfectly. So, all it took was a software reinstall, with help from the Elgato tech support, which was great considering I had purchased my EyeTV Hybrid several years ago (I have the 2008 version)!
     
  9. JAT
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #9
    A tip. If you find a version of EyeTV software that seems to function well, keep it. They seldom have anything exciting in updates, but many of them seem to have issues.
     

Share This Page