HELP!!!! what is sh-2.05a#

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by bokdol, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    ok this is very strange i posted this in the software section but could not get info on sh-2.05a#.

    when i try to load up osx it stalls on the grey screen with the dark grey apple logo. the on the upper right hand of the screen sh-2.05a# pops up. looks like a dos prompt/ or unix shell? well any how i cant get osx to run but i can type commands after the sh-2.05a# is there a command that well make my osx run. this is the second machine to have this problem in one day. the other machine i just reinstalled osx. i did not yet want to do that on this machine because i wanted to save as much as possible. hoping there is a way around sh-2.05a#. can any one help. the other person sugested to remove nortons and use first aid i did.. nothing happened.
    i am using 9 now. but hope i can go back to x

    thank you all
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #2
    Try starting up in single user mode. Hold down command-s at startup and youll hopefully get dumped to a command line. Type "FSCK -y" then return. Do that until it no longer reports errors. Then type reboot.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    strated but found no errors and then
    sh-2.05a# apeared in the command line again
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    funkywhat2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    #4
    Take it to an Apple Store.

    If it's happening during startup (not the OS, the Hardware) then it would be an Open Firmware/Hardware Config issue? If you can type stuff than it sounds like OF, but don't take it from me. I'm just a PC user.

    Edit: Try typing "mac-boot" on the next line, when the text pops up.
     
  5. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #5
    Sounds to me like one of your system files is missing. Try typing ls (lowercase LS) and see whether you get a list of files.
     

Share This Page