HELP with a Re-install

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BLDun, Nov 3, 2005.

  1. BLDun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #1
    I am unable to run a hardware test for a variety of reasons so I think my solution to my ongoing problems is to reformat and/or reinstall the software that came with my G5. Can you give me any help as to the best way to backup all the files/programs that I've accumulated and then proceed to begin again. Thanks for your help!!
     
  2. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #2
    How big is your HD?

    You could burn all the important stuff granted you have a DVD burner. You could buy an external HD and mirror the data you have.
     
  3. BLDun thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #3
    My HD is a 150 Gig and I have nearly 98 gig free. Is it possible to clone the stuff with a program like carbon copy cloner and then reinstall the original software and work from there??? I'm just not sure exactly how to go about it
     
  4. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #4
    If you are doing a restore it completely cleans the drive, and reinstalls it to the day you bought it.

    If you don't want to do this and don't want to burn 10+ DVDs I suggest giving an "Archive and Install" a try.
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    As for backing up, I would think DVD burning would be your best bet, unless of course you have a large External HDD lying around.
    Once you have everything backed up. Pop in the system disk that came with your computer > Power Down (with disk in drive) > Hold C while starting up until you see an install screen > the rest takes care of itself with on screen instructions, just pick the install that best fits what you want to do.
     
  6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    I would definitely give that a try first, it is really easy (in fact I'm doing it on my other computer right now).
    You can do this by following the directions I gave above. (once you get to where it asks you what drive, click options)
    Make sure you check "preserve user settings."
     
  7. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #7
    Try a archive and install first and see if that takes care of most or all of your problems. If that does not yield the expected results do a clean install. Do you have an iPod? If so you can use it as an external drive and backup important data.(maybe now would be the time to get that 5G 60GB Video iPod you always wanted)

    Otherwise I would suggest an external hard disk drive you can get one fairly cheap and use it for frequent updates.
     
  8. BLDun thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #8
    What about an ibook? would that work to backup to??
     
  9. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #9
    I don't see why not. There are people her that sync there iBooks/PBooks with there desktop machine. You probably can do that through ethernet or firewire. I'm sorry I'm not that familiar how that works.
     
  10. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    That would work very well.
    Start your desktop computer up in "Target Disk Mode," then connect your iBook to your Desktop computer via Firewire cable (it may be hard to find a double sided firewire cable). On your notebook it will appear as a Firewire drive on your desktop, and all of your files on your Desktop Computer will be in it.
    Just click and drag to a folder on your iBook.
    Instructions
     

Share This Page