Help with an LCII

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AmtrakRider, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #1
    I know this is the PPC area of the forum, and the LCII predates what most would call power PC, but I just got my hands on one of these, and am having a little bit of trouble. I have an old NEC AD-15 to VGA adapter that works well with a Powermac G3, but with this system which is in good working order I've tried a CRT monitor, and a few different LCDs, and it will not display on any of them, although the monitors do see an input they can not output it. Is trying to get this machine working on more modern monitors hopeless?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #2
    You might try very slowly pulling it out and at an angle to see if video comes in or not.

    I have an adapter for my 6500 that only works if I have it hanging halfway in and at about a 30º angle to the right or left. If I push it all the way in there's no video signal.

    No idea if that will help you or not, but it's how I have to do it with mine. Discovered it by accident when wiggling it to see what would happen.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    skateny

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    Love your reply. While my DC-in board was in mid fry (and my not knowing it at the time), I had to learn AC adapter ballet in order to get my iBook to power up. When all angles started to fail as well as a new AC adapter, I made the DC switch. Funny how all this sophisticated technology responds to (largely) accidental tweaks, like when people use the smack the top or sides of their TVs.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #4
    Maybe this will help:
    http://grox.net/doc/mac/IIsi/macIIciIIsiLC.video.pinouts
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #5
    thanks for the replies guys, it looks like this will come down to some tweaking, and or finding an older monitor that i can use with this.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #6
    Lcd

    Best bet is an LCD with adapter at this point. Do you get chime on boot? If not probably time to recapp the motherboard. Capacitors are probably leaking and bad, if not they will be. Now the fun, leave the monitor plugged in, it will boot slow and will say out of range for like 2 minutes then should turn on an show happy Mac screen. Just make sure the monitor supports 640 by 480. If not no go.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Sounds like good advice.

    Although, I are more making this post to say that your username makes me think of Heikki Kovalainen.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #8
    Name

    Well my game nickname in the 80's was havok, that was taken so I added alien which I was watching at that moment.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #9
    It chimes on boot I think your right about it needing a lower rez the monitors i've tried being able to provide. the inside of the unit looks fine no leaking or anything like that.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #10
    Chime

    Chime on boot is usually a good sign, even then it should give distorted lines, Checkerboard or something. Older 15 inch LEDs are usually best bet with a db15 to VGA adapter set to 640x480.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #11
    I have a Performa 600 CD (same vintage as the LCII) and I just looked at the Getting Started guide and for Monitors it states:

    A variety of color and monochrome monitors are supported by built-in video (no video card is required), including:

    • Macintosh Performa Display
    • Macintosh Performa Plus Display
    • AppleColor Display
    • Macintosh 12" Monochrome Display
    • Macintosh 12" RGB Display
    • AppleColor High Resolution RBG Monitor
    • 640 by 480 VGA monitors (requires special adapter cable)

    Other Apple and non-Apple monitors are supported by NuBus video cards.

    If I remember correctly during this time period Apple used a non-standard pin arrangement that was differed from the industry standard VGA and that's why the adapter cable is required.
     
  12. Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    #12
    My LCII will only display on my older LCD monitors, and usually only models that have VGA (No DVI or HDMI Input options). The best bet for an LCD is one that is designed to used in a server environment.

    If you can lookup specs on the LCD you are after, finding one that supports 512x384 is going to be key.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #13
    Thanks for the posts I got my one and only CRT from the depths of my basement that was able to give me the wavy lines which was a first, but it also did not support the output that the machine was giving out. I've now given this a shot on 6 different monitors, and have only seen a few gray wavy lines in return. Time to find an ancient CRT hopefully on the cheap somewhere online.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #14
    If you don't have one already, I think you need either one of these Cables To Go 02902 Mac DB15 Male to VGA HD15 Female Adapter or the Apple specified "special adapter cable".
     
  15. Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    #15
    To add to that,

    If you can find one that has built in DIP switches, you can sometimes force the signal to play nicer with some of the non supported monitors.
     

Share This Page