Help with Canon PowerShot A520.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by psycoswimmer, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Hi. I've had my PowerShot A520 for about a year. It has 4 mega pixels and 4x optical zoom. I've just been pretty fed up lately with the picture quality I'm getting. Half of the shots I take come out blurry. Taking outside pictures is fine, but indoors with the flash on is horrible. I'm stuck with this camera for a while, and there is no way I'll be getting another one anytime soon. What I really want is just some tips that will help me take some better pictures. Please post anything, even if it's barely helpful. :)

    Thanks.
     
  2. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #2
    Keep in mind that most p&s cameras have a hard time focusing in low light. Is this a new issue with the cam or has it always been like this?
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    The issue is that with the small aperture on the lens on your P&S you need a long exposure to get enough light on tiny areas in a P&S sensor. In the exposure time either you, your subject or both are moving.

    Possible solutions:

    1) Increase the ISO sensitivity setting on your camera. This will reduce the required exposure time at the expensive of increased noise.

    2) Use a tripod or any other method of keeping the camera still

    3) Get your subjects to stay still...
     
  4. psycoswimmer thread starter macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    It's always been like this, but I just felt like brining it up today so I could get some replies before Christmas. Thanks for the reply.

    One of the problems I have is more noise so I guess the first solution won't work?

    I'll keep in mind to be extremely still when taking pictures. However, I like to take shots of my family doing things like cooking, playing with the dogs, etc. while they aren't looking for better shots. So I don't tell them and well, they're usually moving. I'll try the increased ISO sensitivity though. Thanks alot for the replies! I appreciate it.
     
  5. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #5
    If you're using the flash, probably the blurry pics are due to misfocus rather than camera shake, because the flash is normally fired at 1/60th of a second, whic is enough to stop most slow moving subjects. They could come out blurry if they're running around, but there you'd probably pan to get the image. These cams have slow lenses, few AF points and a not-so-good AF algorithm, so they need plenty of light to focus well.

    When you take the shot, make sure the little rectangle turns green, and try using the screen instead of the EVF to focus. This may improve your shots a bit. As for noise, I usually take shots at ISO 50-100 and don't have too much of a problem. You can always use noise reduction in postprocessing (with programs like NeatImage or Noise Ninja) for those noisy pics.

    Dan
     

Share This Page