Help with Case Modding

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by themadchemist, Aug 22, 2003.

1. themadchemist macrumors 68030

themadchemist

Hi guys.

I've got a G4 400Mhz Gigabit Ethernet.

There are two case mods that I'd like to do. Once is adding a 5" LCD into the front panel like another G4 modder has done before. His instructions weren't terribly clear and I was wondering if anyone knows what would be necessary to do this.

Also, I'd like to add some backlighting with LEDs to the Apple sign either on the left or on the front. What I want to do is either have a controller that alternates between different colored lights or have a console installed so that I can select which colored light I want (with a three-choice or four-choice switch).

I have never done a case mod before and have no idea about anything at all.

Does anyone know how this might be possible and can anyone provide very dumbed down instructions & explanations? Thanks!

2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

have you checked xlr8yourmac.com?

Also when you start doing it you might want to take pics as you go and definitely post some here.

Good luck!

D

3. Rezet macrumors 6502a

Rezet

Man... he is gonna mess up his G4 so badly...

4. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

That all depends. If you find the right equipment, know your way around a soldering iron, and get the right directions its not that tough.

Now if he's never done any electrical work, well.....;) :eek:

D

5. themadchemist thread starter macrumors 68030

themadchemist

RIGHT, but I do have lots of engineering friends at school & PC friends who have modded like crazy to help out, as well.

And I've always been a champ at finding out about things. Anyway, I'm planning to get a G5 soon, so this is just an experiment that I'll take my time with.

I figure, there's a first for everything and if I'm afraid to mess up, I'll never learn anything.