Resolved Help with Coda 2 set up

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Kevin Mc, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. Kevin Mc, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #1
    Let me preface this with an acknowledgement that I am a rank amateur at web development. I am a school teacher with a website that I use with my classes.

    I have used dream weaver mx on my g4 PowerBook until last week when I upgraded to retina MacBook (hence no more dream weaver).

    I'm looking at switch to Coda2, but can't figure out why I can't publish edited pages. I cannot get past the "local and remote path must be set . . . " msg.

    I am connected to my server but obviously have something screwed up in my site set up. I suspect it is in the local URL setting, as I don't really understand what I should have there.

    Any guidance would be appreciated. I'm still on the evaluation version and time is running out.

    Thanks
    www.mrmaconline.com
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Newburgh, NY
    #2
    To use the publish feature correctly both the remote root and local root must be set to the correct root for your site. If your ftp root is your site root and you don't need to specify an additional path for remote root, just put a forward slash there.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Thanks for your help and pardon my obvious ignorance!

    I am able to open, edit and save a file from the server, but unable to publish a file edited or created locally.

    I have set local root (using "set" button in site setup) and changed remote root to forward slash as you suggested, but still no go.

    I think part of the problem is I don't even know the correct question to ask, but I appreciate your effort.

    Is it possible the problem lies in the local url setting. I'm exceptionally confused by that.

    Thanks
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Newburgh, NY
    #4
    I've never set a local URL, it should only be used if you're running a local server.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    Thank you for your help.

    Publish function is now working fine.

    I believe that I was opening files and editing them, but did not actually have the site opened. I was able to save the files and even drag and drop them into the proper place on my server and the updates would be uploaded. The Coda "publish" function wouldn't work, though.

    And yes, I do feel pretty foolish about this!

    Thanks again for your help. It is appreciated.

    Kevin
    www.mrmaconline.com
     

Share This Page