Help with component cables for the Wii

Discussion in 'Games' started by sam10685, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. sam10685 macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    i got a new flat screeen tv (flat screen-- not flat panel...) so i bought some component connectors for it thinking it would improve the picture so i hooked them up and changed the screen setting to 480p EDTV or HDTV and all it did was this... (i got the tv free because one of my friends bought a huge plasma-cell tv. i still haven't gone to see it yet.) anyway, any help would be great! (p.s. i know the old tv is still there. it weighs about 4000 pounds so i need to get some people to help me haul it up stairs.)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #2
    What kind of a TV is that? When it does this it usually means your TV doesn't support progressive scan. The Wii goes to 480p. What happens when you set it to 480i?
     
  3. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #3
    That's exactly what happened. Your TV is not P-Scan compatible. Hook the Wii up with the composite cables and reset the Wii to 480i then reconnect the component cables. That should fix the picture. If not, you'll have to go in blind to set it to 480i. Component will still give you a better picture, just not progressive.

    For future reference: Component is not necessarily equal to P-Scan. If your TV is 4:3 (not widescreen) then it is not p-scan compatible as P-Scan is inherently 16:9 (Widescreen). If you're looking at a 16:9 TV, then chances are it supports 480p at least.
     
  4. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    i went in blind and set it back to 480i-- i have no idea how because i couldn't see a thing-- but it works ok now. should i still try to disconect them then re connect them and see what happens?
     
  5. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    it's a 35" Sony Trinitron. when it's set at 480i, it works normally.
     
  6. tbrinkma macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #6
    Just a note to clear up a misconception posted earlier in the thread.

    480p is also known as EDTV (Enhanced Definition Television). It's a 4:3 aspect ratio format. The lowest HDTV (High Definition Telelvision) resolution is 720p.

    That said, EDTV as a standard was introduced about the same time as HDTV, and in the process of moving to HDTV production, EDTV capability was introduced in most (but not all) HDTV sets. Unfortunately, relatively few 4:3 sets are EDTV compatible.

    Component video will still give you a better picture, because there is more bandwidth available for the signal, but it doesn't necessarily mean you'll get 420p from the tube.

    In summary:
    SDTV (Standard Definition) = 420i/4:3
    EDTV (Enhanced Definition) = 420p/4:3
    HDTV (High Definition) = 720p/16:9 or 1080i/16:9 or 1080p/16:9
     
  7. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    cool... thank you. is it necessary that i change the setting still or should i leave it? the component cables work if i leave the setting at 480i.
     
  8. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #8
    Actually, more 480p broadcasts are 16:9 rather than 4:3. Though I've seen specs that say that both are possible. Certainly most 480p that I've seen is 16:9.

    In addition, the real reason component gives better signal than composite is that while composite distributes Luminance and Chrominance on a single cable, whereas component distributes Luminance (Y) and Chrominance (Cr/Pr, Cb/Pb) on different cables (the set then decodes the Green signal). There's less interference among the signals which results in a sharper image.

    To the OP, if you've got a good (read: clear :) ) picture with the component set to 480i, then you're set. No reason to disconnect any cables. Like I said earlier, you can transmit component signal (Y, Cr/Pr, Cb/Pb) without transmitting progressive; just leave the Wii set at 480i and you'll be in good shape.
     
  9. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    awesome guys... thank you very much for clearing all of that up... huge help!
     
  10. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #10
    Doesn't 420p but widescreen 16:9 mode fit into this somewhere? That's how I have my DVD player hooked up to my 17" LCD panel, component, 480p, but the monitor has to go into "full 16:9" mode....
     
  11. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #11
    That's why we're here. :)
     
  12. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #12
    480p is not widescreen by default. 720p and 1080p are, by the HD spec, but 480p can be wide or full.
     
  13. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #13
    My bad. :eek: Every implementation of 480p that I've seen has been widescreen.
     
  14. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    the component cables make a huge difference even with the setting still on 'standard.' if your tv does component cables at all, even if your tv wont go into high-def mode, i recommend not hesitating at all about getting these. there is definitely a difference especially in Wii golf.
     

Share This Page