Help with ext Sony CDRW!

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by madforrit, Jul 23, 2002.

1. madforrit macrumors regular

First off, hey everyone....
    I've been frequenting MacRumors for about two years now but this is my first post. I need your help!
    I've got a G4 450 and a Sony Spressa ext. CDRW. For some reason, I can't get OSX to recognize the burner....itunes, disc burner, toast, nothing. If I boot in 9, it's there. It doesn't show up in classic. I have installed the disc burning update also. The system profiler DOES recognize the burner (it claims the model to be CRX120E), but says that the firmware and driver are "unavailable." Apple claims this burner to be compatible on the itunes compat. page. And the Sony website appears to have no Mac drivers for any of its burners. So any help/ideas would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

I have a firewire Sony Spressa CRX 145E, it works fine with the built-in OS X drivers - with a Sawtooth G4 400.

I have not tried lately to see if it is recognized when left on during a reboot under 10.1.5, but on some of the older OS X versions it had problems being recognized if left on during reboot. But this was easily remedied by just turning it off and and back on.

Even shows up under classic's Apple Sys Profiler when there is a CD in the drive, not as a firewire device, but under the Classic Mac OS Compatibility Environment.

3. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

GeeYouEye

It's USB, isn't it.

Lemme guess... it's the USB version of the drive. I had the exact same problem. The solution is to buy a FireWire enclosure and put the drive in there. After that it will work.

If I'm wrong about it being USB, well, its a defective burner then.

4. madforrit thread starter macrumors regular

thanks

Thanks for the info G-