Help with Forbidden ISP

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by IanJ, Jul 6, 2003.

  1. IanJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #1
    I know there's an eas answer to this but I can't think out what it is - help please!
    I've recently got an iMac and when I try to access Safari (or IE) i get a message saying Forbidden

    You were denied access because:

    Access denied by access control list.
     
  2. tazo macrumors 68040

    tazo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
  3. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #3
    we need a great deal more information than this. OS 9 or X? Does the error occur in the browser window (like where a webpage would be displayed), or is it a popup error? 56k or broadband? Did you set it up for internet access properly? Really any ISP should be Mac compatable...

    pnw
     
  4. IanJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #4
    Sorry
    Its OS X 10.2.3
    I sign on to AOL, but for web browsing I used to use Internet Explorer on system 9.
    Now with my iMac I can get on to AOL no bother but when i try to get start Inernet Explorer or Apple's Safari I get this 403 error along the top and

    Forbidden
    Access denied by access control list

    You say have I set up for internet access properly - I thought I had, but now am not so sure. its either that or could it be a password requirement, but there's no obvious (to me!) place to do that.
     
  5. arogge macrumors 65816

    arogge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #5
    Re: Help with Forbidden ISP

    There's a difference between the error occurring while accessing the browser application and the error occurring while trying to access a Web site. The reports of this error message indicate that this is a Microsoft problem.

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=316699

    The problem can also affect non-Microsoft browsers that are used to access sites that run on Microsoft Internet Information Server if that IIS installation has incorrectly-set permissions. Are you using a proxy server? If so, is it configured properly and is it working?
     
  6. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #6
    yep, those hacked passwords for porn sites dont last to long, sorry. :D

    iJon
     
  7. tpjunkie macrumors 65816

    tpjunkie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
  8. IanJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #8
    iJon

    Nice reply - but if you read my posting you'll notice I can't even get into surf the porn sites you seem so familiar with!

    Repeat: When I click on to IE (or Netscape or Safari) I get the message

    Forbidden
    Access denied by access control list

    As arogge says - its while trying to access the browser that I get the message - do I take it that there is not a simple answer to this - like throw away prefs from somewhere??

    Thanks for the helpful replies.
    Ian
     
  9. arogge macrumors 65816

    arogge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #9
    This appears to be an AOL problem that has been reported previously:

    Access your OS X Network preferences and try this solution from Keir Doherty:
    http://discusssearch.info.apple.com/WebX?128@151.zGrsaZFAaAF.4@.3bc2f36e

    {
    On the TCP/IP tab, select 'Using PPP' in the Configure field.

    Now click on the 'Proxies' tab and see if you have 'Web Proxy (HTTP)' checked [...]

    If so, uncheck it and return to the TCP/IP tab, reselect 'AOL Dialup' in the Configure field and click 'Apply'.
    }
     
  10. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #10
    what's your default page?
     
  11. arogge macrumors 65816

    arogge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #11
    That's where I believe the problem is - the browser is loaded, it tries to access a Web site, and then it displays the 403 Forbidden error that is generated by the remote server. This is due to a problem on the AOL end, which is a good reason to find an ISP that doesn't use proprietary connection schemes. I enjoy being able to plug in a router, input some IP addresses, activate DHCP, and have a working network connection within a few minutes and a reboot on Linux and Unix operating systems. :)
     
  12. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #12
    yeah, that's what i was thinking.

    IanJ -- d/load a new browser and try that.* just make sure its default page is different than that of your current browsers. and if that works, then try loading the URL of your default page of the problematic browsers and check the behavior.

    * unless someone can think of a way to change the default page w/o having to launch the app.
     
  13. IanJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #13
    Hi again :) :) :) :)

    Big thanks to arroge and zimv20 - I did exactly what you said - into PPP etc - it was set for built-in ethernet rather than internal modem, so changed that and then PPP and to make sure changed the default page - thanks a lot guys - really appreciate your help, it was beginning to bug me cause I reckoned it was something simple but couldn't figure out what. I had also been having problems showing UK£ on some vacation home sites www.clarindavilla.com (it would just show ? ) but show the US$ OK. That's now fixed as well - so double thanks.
    Ian :D :D :D
     

Share This Page