Help with installing new hard drive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ron Geur, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. Ron Geur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #1
    I just added a 4th hard drive (purchased from Apple) to my mac pro and I get the message "The disk you inserted was not recognized by this computer."

    I click on "Initialize" and I am asked to click on the the drive that I want initialized. In spite of the fact that the computer says that it does NOT recognize the drive, all of its specifications are listed.

    After I select the new drive, there are potentially 4 options (verfiy disk permission, repair disk permission, verify disk, repair disk), none of which are "highlighted" thereby preventing me from choosing any one of them.

    I'm a newbie switcher so I'm a little frustrated with my first Mac "plug and play" experience. Any help in solving this problem would be greatly appreciated.

    Ron
     
  2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    Go to Applications - Utilities - Disk Utility, and the drive should show up on the left there. Click on it, then choose "Erase" from the right, and reformat the drive. It should show up on your desktop now.
     
  3. slabbius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #3
    a clean hd needs to be formatted before it can be used... see post above
     
  4. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    Welcome to Apple. Even though the experience is mostly "plug and play" that doesn't preclude you from RTFM. Adding additional hardware to your computer is not considered to be an off the shelf activity. Most people buy their computers and are able to plug them in and play with them right away. Getting under the hood to modify and add hardware will require a bit more effort on your part, so I don't understand your frustration.
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    yes it does. there are options under "erase". just make it the default. [journaled, or whatever] and you should be fine
     
  6. smoky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    #6
    Hi, on the subject of adding Mac Pro drives - is there a proprietary drive carrier? I'm wondering if 3rd party drives can just be screwed in an pre-existing bracket?

    Thanks!
     
  7. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #7
    Yep they can. The carriers are already inside the mac pro, just screw the drive onto the carrier, the screws are there already too.
     

Share This Page