Help with my iPhone!!! Please!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mikeandashley, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #1
    I just bought a jailbroken phone. It was working great. Then I got a message about a software update. I did not know that you could not do this on a jailbroken phone. Please excuse my ignorance of this. So I clicked it and then my phone went to a black screen with the white apple icon for 9 seconds and then goes completely blank for 3 seconds. I have not backed up my phone. I do not care about losing the data, as I had almost nothing on it anyway. All I want is to get it back to being able to work. Can anyone help me, please!!
    Thank you:
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Restore it through iTunes should be all you need.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #3
    Thank you for getting back to me. The problem is that I never backed it up with iTunes, since I recently got it.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    You don't need to have it backed up to the computer in order to do a restore via itunes

    Note: you would most likely have to update to iOS 6.1, which there is currently no jailbreak available
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    See if you can restore as new with iTunes. Should work.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    FWIW, 6.1 jailbreak should be released Sunday, so not long to wait to rejailbreak.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    You can restore the phone as new without having ever backed up. You said you don't mind losing everything that's on the phone (which is good because you will - you have no backup), but other than that a full restore will get your phone working again just fine.

    Since you were trying to update the software, I'm assuming you also don't care much about the phone being jailbroken. If that's the case, you should be good to go. If not, as another user mentioned a jailbreak will hopefully be available by this weekend.

    Also, in the future, backup (to both iTunes and iCloud) :D
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
  9. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    One upvote just isn't enough for this.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #10
    you are in a boot loop. Hold down the homebutton and plug it into the computer. Preform a restore which will require you to update. There is not much you can do about your data since you did not back it up, however if you use icloud you can restore from its backup.
     
  11. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    So take this as a lesson learned.
    Anything you had on it is gone but since you didnt have it that long it probably wasnt too much there.
    From now on back it up on itunes here and there. Its a good habit.;)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #12
    Thank you all for the responses. So I did the whole restore thing and now it is on the loop thing again. So it shows the white apple with the black screen for 9 seconds and then all black for 3 seconds.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #13
    I tried to restore and on the 3rd try it worked. Next problem is that since I bought the phone jailbroken I do not have the original SIM card. Is there anything that I can do about this?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Are you stuck at activation screen? You can use any AT&T sim card to get past it, activated or not.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #15
    I have an O2 sim card since I live in Germany. My screen says,
    "SIM Not Valid
    Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier's store to receive a replacement SIM card.

    I was hoping that I could do this on my own without going to the store here in Germany since I got the phone in the US.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    1080p

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #16
    The phone is locked to a US carrier. Which carrier did it come from?
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #17
    I am not sure what carrier it came from as it was bought on Ebay. If I can get a hold of a SIM from AT&T to use just for the activation, would anything happen to that SIM card, like anything be erased or changed on it? Or would it stay the same so that it could still be used just like before with everything still the same as before I used it to activate my phone? Then I would just need to rejailbreak it correct? Any suggestions on how to do that? I have downloaded redsn0w, should that be pretty easy to use? As I said I am not a very techy person?
    Thank you very much.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    #18
    If AT&T you can buy an unlocking code fairly cheap around $14 .99.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #19
    An unlocking code, how do I go about buying one of those and is it pretty simple to use?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    #20
    Try YouTube there are some tutorials on it.

    Basically you will buy the code then they will email it you and yoi insert a new sim and it will ask for the unlocking code
     

Share This Page