Help with OS X upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by BLDun, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. BLDun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #1
    I have an older Mac that I am trying to upgrade. It now has OS X 10.1.5. How do I get to 10.3?? Do I have to buy Jaguar? I can't find it to download and I have been all over the Apple site. The software update will only upgrade to 10.1.5 so I am guessing that I will need to make a purchase to go beyond that. Any help???
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    10.3 is Panther, and to get to it, you have to buy it (not Jaguar). It's available here:

    http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APP...HxbeGCO7lIhwd/0.0.11.1.0.6.21.1.9.1.4.0.0.1.0

    But are you aware, that Tiger (which replaces Panther) aka 10.4 will be released in the fairly near future?

    Panther, FWIW, is $129 in the US and $69 for students in the US. You could probably also buy Jaguar used for a fairly low price, either here or on eBay....
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    Think of 10.0, 10.1, 10.2, 10.3, and soon 10.4 as different operating systems. You need to purchase each one to use it.

    Now, the next number is the version of the OS. if you have 10.0, you can upgrade for free to 10.0.1, 10.0.2, etc. The same goes for the others.

    So, if you want 10.2 (jaguar) you need to buy it, then you can upgrade for free to 10.2.8 or what ever number they are up to. If you buy 10.3 you can upgrade for free up to 10.3.8 or whatever number they are up to.
     
  4. BLDun thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #4
    Yea, I understand the upgrade system. What I can't find is Jaguar to upgrade to. Apple doesn't seem to have it, MacMall doesn't seem to have it. So where can I buy it????? Is it possible to skip from 10.1 to 10.3 or do I need to go by progrression???
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    You can skip. And Jag isn't available for download. You'd have to get it used. But you don't need it, to install Panther. I think that was what I was trying to say above -- sorry.
     
  6. BLDun thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005

Share This Page