Help with quicktime

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Ringo-Chan, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #1
    OK I've bought a MacBook inJuly 2010, and it is my first owned computer but after a few month I was messing around and switched internet browsers and got rid of safari and I use VLC for watching videos so I got rid of QuickTime but then I was no longer able to watch videos or use flash, iTunes, iLife09 etc. after a couple of weeks it'a back to normal again but iTunes+iLife won't open even now that I got all my upgrades it still doesn't work such a little window popping up saying "iTunes require Quicktime 7.5 or more" something like that so I reinstalled QuickTime to 7.6 but the same thing keeps popping up but my have QuickTime so can anyone help me please
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    QuickTime X is missing, which is not downloadable yet, as it is not working on Leopard (10.5). Either download the Combo Update Installer for 10.6.6 or try the upload of my QT X application I attached * or if none of these work, you may need to reinstall Mac OS X from the grey Restore DVD you got with your MacBook. It will not delete any data and should restore the applications the system needs you have deleted in between.

    * Download this and put it into your Applications folder via Finder.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #3
    Thank you I'll see if it works
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #4
    It;s not working even though i REinstalled it and your QuickTimeX and the Combo Update installer on apple is down and I can't download it:(
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    What did you reinstall? Mac OS X or QuickTime (the current available installer is for QT 7) or ...?
    The upload I linked to (QT X) and the Combo Updater are still working:
    Combo Update for 10.6.6 page: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1349
    Combo Update for 10.6.6 direct .dmg download: http://supportdownload.apple.com/do...-9938.20110106.ARe3a/MacOSXUpdCombo10.6.6.dmg
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #6
    Well I reinstalled my old apps from the disc and downloaded the QuicKTime X but things still don't wrok so now I have to install the combo pack?
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    It is worth a shot, but if you can spare thirty minutes to not use your Mac, pop in the Snow Leopard Upgrade or Restore DVD and reinstall Mac OS X. No data of yours will be deleted, just the files you deleted or the system has ****ed up, will get restored.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/142454/2009/08/install_snow_leopard.html
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #8
    Ok I tried the app one later I'll try the OSX restore one
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #9
    ok thanks for the help my computer is now restored!
     
  10. macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #10
    Why would you delete Quicktime in the first place?

    If you want .mov files to open in VLC, then set VLC as the standard 'open with' app (just select 'get info' on any random .mov file).

    Don't go deleting system apps if you don't know what you're doing...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Ringo-Chan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    In a Fruit Bowl
    #11
    Well I only have 2 gb and I thought I'd get rid of apps I don't use but it's all fixed now
     
  12. macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #12
    You have only 2GB of memory - but Quicktime doesn't use any of that when its not running.

    You should have much more disk space than that... and your main drive shouldn't be run more than 90% full (otherwise the computer will start to slow down).

    You're really asking for problems if you start deleting utilities without understanding what you're doing.
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13

Share This Page