Help with Remote Login and routers!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sir42, Oct 9, 2005.

  1. sir42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #1
    I'm trying to use Remote Login to access my work computer from home (both macs). When I select Remote Login in Sharing, I am told to connect to my computer by typing in "ssh myname@192.168.1.100" When I try that from another computer in my office, I connect without a problem. When I try to connect to my computer from home, however, it doesn't work.

    My computer in the office is connected to the internet through a Linksys router. I sought some advice, and if I'm understanding correctly, I need to connect to my router's IP, not my computer's, is that correct? When I go to www.whatismyip.com from any computer in my office I am given the same IP address (let's say xx.xxx.xxx.xxx). So I think that's the router's IP.

    I went onto my router and opened up ports 427, 548, and 22 and told my router to forward all traffic from those ports to 192.168.1.100 (my computer). Assuming I did this correctly, wouldn't I need to type in the following to connect remotely: "ssh myname@xx.xxx.xxx.xxx"?

    I've attached a screenshot of my Linksys router with what I think are the open ports. Did I even open the ports correctly?

    thanks so much!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jonat8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    In your pic, under Ext. Port, shouldn't it be, for example 427 To 427 rather than 0 To 427. That's how my router works (but mine is a D-Link).
     
  3. sir42 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I made the changes but I'm afraid it's still not working.

    Is it possible that I'm still using the wrong IP address? Like I said, I tried both the one that my mac told me to use in Sharring preferences, and the one I obtained by going on to www.whatismyip.com.
     
  4. sir42 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #4
    I'm beginning to get a sense of the problem here. I called Linksys tech support, and they said I should be using the WAN IP address listed in the Status section of the router setup. The trouble is that IP address begins with 192.168. From what I understand, that is a private IP address. However, a real/public IP address should be listed there. Does anyone know what the problem may be?
     
  5. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #5
    My only thought is that the way your setup you have a router connected to a router which is connected to your computers. So internet>router 1>router 2>your computer and router 2 is what you did port forwarding on. check your cables. Is there a hidden router?
     
  6. sir42 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #6
    I think that's exactly what's going on. I have a DSL modem that's connected to my Linksys router. I called Linksys tech support again and they think that my DSL modem is also acting as a router. They suggested I call my ISP and ask them to turn off the router function on the modem. So I took their advice and called my ISP (Broadview Networks). Their tech support hasn't called me back yet but I'm hoping this will solve my problem.

    I'm surprised it's this hard. I would think that I'm not the only person interested in remote login who's connected to the internet via a router and a DSL modem. I'll keep everyone posted unless anyone else any thoughts on the matter.
     

Share This Page