Help with rooting and unlocking Galaxy S3

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by davidjearly, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    I have a Samsung Galaxy S3, which is locked to the Three network in the UK.

    I have a buyer who wants this and they've asked me to root and unlock the device to all networks using the 'cf-root' method.

    Can someone give me an easy guide to do this and let me know if there is anything I need to consider about using this method before posting the phone to the buyer?

    To my knowledge, the S3 is running an early version of Jelly Bean.

    Thanks.
     
  2. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #3
    Thanks for posting. Two problems though - the first is that the buyer is specific about using the 'cf-root' method. The second is that I can't unlock the phone using the method you linked - I don't have the required options in the menu.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #4
    To unlock the Galaxy S3 and you don't see the menus from the other thread, that means you need the Jelly Bean update for your phone. Update your phone BEFORE rooting. Go Settings - About Device - Update Device. Then follow the instructions for unlocking.

    To root the Galaxy S3, find the version you have and follow the instructions at www.xda-developers.com/android/how-to-root-the-samsung-galaxy-s-iii-xda-developer-tv/#more-66922

    You need a Windows PC and it takes less a minute if you follow the instructions.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #5
    Thanks for that! Very helpful. Guess I'll be installing Windows on the iMac in the morning as I don't plan on going into work on my 3 weeks vacation. When I go to 'Update Device', it tells me there are no updates available but I know it isn't running the latest version of Jelly Bean.

    Also, is that link to root using the 'cf-root' method? Any idea why the buyer specifically wants that method used?
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    You can find another buyer. Tell them to do it themselves if you dont know how.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #7
    Why even bother replying? Thankfully, the world isn't full of people like you and I'm happy to help the buyer if I can.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  9. macrumors 601

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    Id help out a buyer too but i know what im doing. You apparently never have done this or you would know where to go.

    Im just saying it isnt like you cant sell it to somebody else without the headache.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #10
    Thanks. What's the significance of this link?

    I am more than capable of following instructions. I'm just not used to working with Android devices. I have plenty of experience with JB community.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #11
    Hmmm, the updates for your Galaxy S3 looks like it has been delayed by your carrier and that's why you don't see it. That's going to be a problem if you want to unlock since the easy unlock method is only available on Jelly Bean and up. You may want to check with your carrier when they plan on releasing the Jelly Bean update since all the major American and Canadian carriers already have. You will probably want to ask over at XDA Developers if anyone has unlocked a Galaxy S3 from your carrier with the easy method.

    The buyer likely wants the cf root method because it leaves the original factory image intact and only installs root whereas other methods may wipe the factory image with a custom ROM.
     
  12. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #12
    I used this and I don't think it modified the stock ROM. http://galaxys3root.com/galaxy-s3-root/how-to-root-galaxy-s3-on-mac-osx/
     
  13. davidjearly, Dec 16, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #13
    Thanks again. I'll look into getting the version of Jelly Bean updated.

    Edit: I've looked at the phone. It's running Android 4.1.1. Do you know of anyway I can update to the version required to do the unlock?

    This looks easy. Almost too easy! It wouldn't require me to install Windows either.

    Does it use the same method as cf-root to root the device?
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Beeplance

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    Sorry, forgive me but I've never been an Android person, although I starting to gain interest.

    What is rooting and why do people want to do it on their Android phones?
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #15
  16. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #16
    Thanks for this. A couple of questions. Will this unlock the phone too? Is there any way to do it within OS X, or am I going to have to install Windows?

    Cheers!
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #17
    No this will not unlock the phone

    The process uses Odin utility for which you need windows. As far as I remember there is something for OSX too but people have had problems rooting while using OSX. So I will suggest using windows. I reiterate, check your phone model before you start rooting.

    As for unlocking you can search on the xdadevelopers forum based on your phone model and android version and you should find ways to unlock it.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #18
    Thanks again. One more question - is there a way to completely go back to the stock software using this method?

    I've checked and double-checked - model number is GT-I9300, so that seems to be supported, right?
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #19
    Rooting provides you super user access on the phone. Just like an administrater has higher access on a windows OS and can perform restricted operations, rooting provides you that access on android phones allowing you to perform restricted operations.

    One of the main reasons a very basic user roots his phone is to be able to remove bloatware (preinstalled applications that you dont want to use but are unable to install normally). Another reason can be to be able to use applications like Titanium backup which can be used to create backups of applications and data and to also freeze applications or services (to free RAM) which you dont want to un install (might want to keep them on the phone expecting using them some time later in the life of the phone). There are also several other apps that need root access.

    A more advanced user may root to be able to install a custom recovery which can then be used to install custom kernels or ROMs, Mods or do a complete backup (create system image of all files and data including system files) of the phone so that if any thing ever goes wrong on the phone you can instantneously revert it to the last system back up.

    ----------

    Yes there is a way to completely go back to stock.

    Yes GT I9300 is the international galaxy S3 version and it is supported. Also it should be easier to find unlock procedure for GT I9300 as the international version is really well supported by xda developers.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #20
    Thanks for all your help. I'm off to install Windows and will post back if I have any major issues!

    Cheers!
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #21
    Sure. Happy to help :)
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Beeplance

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    I see. Thanks very much for the info!:)
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #23
    Hi! Ok, Windows 8 installed (finally a reason to install this on my iMac - mixed feelings haha). I followed the instructions in the xda link to the letter, and this is what I get from Odin when I load the cf-root as PDA:

    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> CF-Auto-Root-m0-m0xx-gti9300.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0

    The phone doesn't reboot, but stays in download mode. Any ideas?
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #24
    Did you try removing and reinserting the battry and then retsarting?
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 68000

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #25
    Sure did! Several times! :confused:
     

Share This Page