Help with Scanner Software

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by denm316, Apr 22, 2004.

  1. denm316 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #1
    I recently purchased a Canon Lide 80 Scanner. The Canon application for the scanner functions runs in OSX, however you need to use a program to open the scanned photo after it is scanned, they supple PhotoShop Elements 2.0, my only problem with this is it opens in Classic mode, which is somewhat slow. I tried using Photshop CS but the Canon software will not allow you to use this program.

    Is there any other progrmas out there that would work for me??

    Any Help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #2
    Can you use Image Capture with your scanner that is included with OS X?

    Either way, can't you just save the scanned image to disk then open the file in Photoshop CS? Most programs will allow you to scan to disk as well as scan to a program.
     
  3. RHutch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    Amsterdam, OH
    #3
    Did you install (if you have) the OSX version of PhotoShop Elements? I have Elements on my machine alongside Photoshop 7. I can open both of them, in OSX, not Classic. I can use my film scanner or my flatbed from within either one of the applications. I don't know why Elements is opening in Classic for you.
     
  4. denm316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    I installed Elements from the CD that cam with the scanner and it causes it to open in Classic mode. Is there an option or something to get it to run natively in OSX.
     
  5. denm316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    I will have to try Image Capture when I get home today. The problem is that the software requires an application to display the photo after it is scanned.

    I totally thought of your idea to just save it and then open it with Adobe CS, unfortunatley you cannot initiate the scan unless you have an app selected(like elements). The whole process is automated after you scan, it automatically opens the picture in the app you specified.
     
  6. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #6
    That's a bummer. I would give Image Capture a shot. Will Photoshop CS acquire a TWAIN device like Photoshop 6 did on Windows? You might be able to import right from there.
     
  7. big macrumors 65816

    big

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #7
    use "get Info" on the APP and see if there is a check mark that says "open in Classic" deselect the radio button if applicable..... you shoul dhave no problem redirecting the file to another APP, like Preview.
     
  8. RHutch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    Amsterdam, OH
    #8
    Check the CD again. I know that my Elements CD had both versions. I can't remember if I had to choose which installer to use or whether I had to drag something from the CD to my Applications folder or something like that. I am sure that if you check it out again, you will find a way to install the OSX version, and then you will be able to use that as your scanner app.
     
  9. big macrumors 65816

    big

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #9
    Manufacturer Website, I've started to just put all those CD's in boxes, as these Co's have such good support for online downloads of the software
     
  10. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    I have that scanner and love it--but the software sucks.

    You said you have Photoshop CS? Should work the same as PS7, which is what I have. When you install the driver (TWAIN) you are asked what apps you want to install it to--select Photoshop. Then in Photoshop click file, import, TWAIN and you'll get a nice utility to scan with & your image will open in Photoshop.
     
  11. Sparky's macrumors 6502a

    Sparky's

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    #11
    I use a UMAX Powerlook III. when I had OS 9 I used the "Magiscan" 4.5 that worked from the file>import>magicscan plug-in directly into PS7, but when OS X came out Magicscan didn't support it. I heard that "Silverfast" supported many scanners so I found and purchsed it. After installing it into Photoshop CS, I used it a couple of time and found that using file>import>silverfast (umax ce) it would get about 90% through a scan and just quit, Photoshop and everything. So I launched Silverfast and ran it "Independently" then just opened the files in Photoshop CS. I have since resolved the issue (or at least it hasen't happened in the last few months) So I'm happy with it.
     
  12. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Within the Finder, go to File>Get Info or press [cmd]- or [Apple]-. Notice that the check box for "Open in the Classic environment is checked." Uncheck it.
     
  13. denm316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #13
    Thanks for all the suggestions, I will be trying they when I get home tonight.

    I really do appreciate all the help.
     
  14. dabirdwell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #14
    It will work

    I have an LIDE 30 and you need to get the driver from the canon site. When you install it, you will be asked which applications you want to be able to use the scanner. Choose Photoshop and you'll be able to access it in your File->Import menu.
     
  15. denm316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #15
    horrortaxi and dabirdwell,

    Thanks alot for the Photoshop suggestions they work like a charm, and I no longer need to use the horrible canaon scan software.

    Thanks alot for your help, I can now enjoy my scanner for the first time since owning a Mac.
     

Share This Page