Help with tangerine Project

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by da2005pizimp, Feb 9, 2006.

  1. da2005pizimp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #1
    Hi Everyone, I have a Tangerine in pieces (tried to install HD), so i decided to just go ahead and make this my project. Well I plan on doing the following, installing a 366 logic board w/firewire, putting in a 20gig HD, maxing out the ram. I was just wondering if anyone can help me figure out how to put the logic board in, the problem I'm having is that I have the 366 logic board and it has firewire, but the Tangerine ibooks never came with firewire, so i need to figure out the best way to make my own custom port. What would be the best way to do this? I was thinking of a Dremel? Good or Bad idea?
     
  2. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #2
    If you're going to go to the trouble of installing a new logic board, why not do it right and get the correct lower case? Besides, there may be other internal fit issues. I've swapped hard drives in a clamshell before and it's a PITA. I can't imagine how much of a pain a logic board swap will be.
     
  3. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    I need to actually PM you dude, I'm still interested in maybe grabbing a clamshell from you.
     
  4. Foobus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    #4
    Tangerine project

    I'm actually about to start a similar project. My wife loves her Rev. A Tangerine iBook - but the 300 G3 is getting a bit slow. I've got a 466 FW logic board that I'm going to shoehorn in there...

    The easy way (as suggested above) is to grab a bottom case from one of the FireWire clamshell iBooks (Indigo, Key Lime or Graphite). A mutant multicolored clamshell could be quite stylish. As my wife is quite fond of the tangerine-ey goodness, I've picked up an extra Tangerine bottom case to play with ($15). There are some anecdotal references to putting a FW logic board in the non-FW cases out there on the net which seem to suggest that the area around the FW port is the only real fit issue. If I can't produce a usable dremeled FW port that looks reasonable, I may just remove the FW port (she could care less about FW functionality - just wants enough horsepower to run OSX with some snappiness) and toss it into the original case.

    The clamshells are a bit of a bear to get inside of, but if you follow the online directions available (such as pbfixit.com) it's not that bad (I've replaced hard drives and the AC/power board in this one without much difficulty - and the logic board is only a few more steps than the hard drive....)

    Looking forward to seeing how your project goes. Will update as mine continues.
     
  5. da2005pizimp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #5
    There is no trouble b/c the computer already in pieces, and the bottom half is just the bottom case attached to the logic board, and i don't want a mixed color. well i'm going to get a dremel and see what happens :eek:
     

Share This Page