help with upgrading macbook hard drive!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by twoodcc, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    well i finally opened my macbook. after turing it on and seeing that everything looked good, i opened it up to add RAM and hard drive.

    i got the RAM in there (i think)

    but i can't get the hard drive back in there!! i'm pushing as hard as i can !!

    any ideas?:eek:
     
  2. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #2
    well i can shine a flashlight down there and see this black thing, but i don't see how it connects. do you think i messed up the connector?
     
  3. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    well i'm getting really scared right now.

    i pulled out some black rubber thing from where the hard drive goes. but now i have the hard drive in there (i think)

    i put everything else back together, and turned it on......nothing

    please help!!!1
     
  4. pjarvi macrumors 65816

    pjarvi

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Round Lake, IL
    #4
    Try putting the original memory back in, and see if it will boot. When I first bought some memory (from Fry's) one of the modules was bad, I put the old memory back in and everything worked peachy. Went out and bought some Kingston memory from a local store I trust (bit more $$), no problems after that.

    If you removed something when changeing the hard drives, that's bad. From what I saw in a video of removing the hard drive, it should just slide right out, and the new one slide right in. Make sure the connectors are the same! The MB uses SATA.
     
  5. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    thanks for the reply. and you were right, it was the ram. i somehow got the hard drive in there right, but the ram i bought wasn't working right. as soon as i put the other ram in there, boom it started right up. man this is making me mad
     
  6. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    well after reseeding the RAM about 10 times, it finally booted up and sees all 2GB!!! let's hope it stays that way
     
  7. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    i still just have the stock hard drive in it right now. can someone give me a link to what tool i need to take off the thing that attaches to the hard drive?
     

Share This Page