Help with yahoo videos.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iNewbie, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. iNewbie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I just bought an iMac on Wednesday. The last Apple I owned was a IIgs so needless to say I don't know much about what I'm doing yet. I was able to install all the updates and also a Dell printer driver that needed stuffit. I also installed firefox.

    Anyway, I downloaded and believe that I installed flip4mac's software. But when I try and watch a video on yahoo it crashed both safari and firefox. I went to their website and in the Faq the referred to this problem.. But they said that this happens in conjunction with "popcorn" which I assume is another piece of software. They're working on it... I haven't bought Popcorn... the only purchased software so far is iWork.

    If anyone can shed some light on this for me I'd appreciate it. This machine is destined for my father once I get a feel for it... If all goes well I might shoot for a mac pro...

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. lmcintyre macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #2
    do you have the newest version? and if you have an intel iMac did you get the universal beta?
     
  3. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #3
    Here is the latest/universal version, just in case you installed the wrong version.
     
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Also, before jumping to third party software (like FireFox)... you should try and see how you like the standard Apple web browser, called Safari. Most benchmarks I see show Safari to be significantly faster than FireFox on a Mac on most web sites.

    Safari is not like Internet Explorer on a PC, which must be immediately replaced by some third party browser.
     
  5. iNewbie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #5
    Thanks everyone for the help so far!

    I thought I had the newest version (universal) as I downloaded it yesterday from the flip web site. But I'll try the one that was in the version tracker link tonight when I get home. Would I need to uninstall the current version? Is that just deleting it from the applications?

    I only really installed firefox because the yahoo videos were crashing safari. I wanted to make sure it wasn't due to the browser...

    Thanks again!!!
     
  6. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #6
    Go into your Applications > Flip4Mac folder
    Launch Flip4Mac Uninstaller.pkg
    Relaunch Safari and Quicktime

    After you reinstall Flip4Mac you will have to relaunch Safari and Quicktime.
     
  7. iNewbie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #7
    Hi all. I believe I successfully uninstalled Flip4Mac and reinstalled from the versiontracker link that was posted. Now it doesn't crash like it did. It actually plays the advertisement most of the time - but it never plays the video.

    I did see in the yahoo help that their videos weren't compatibe with the Mac.

    Is there no way to do this?


    Thanks for any advice.
     
  8. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #8
    Oh, is this Yahoo Launch? They don't do Macs. MTV/VH1 show no Mac love either.

    The good news is that AOL offer up videos in QuickTime format, and at very nice quality. So, you may want to wander over there and see if the videos you want to see are available.
     
  9. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #9
    MTV 'Overdrive' actually does work on Macs now. I believe they're now using Flash. Kudos to MTV.

    The reason why some media sites might not work is they've chosen to use Windows Media Player DRM. That means it will only work on Windows Media Player 10/11, which only work on Windows 2000/XP. Not linux or Mac. But a lot of sites are using Flash for videos now, because its supported on Windows/Mac/Linux, so everyone is happy.
     
  10. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #10
    And it seems that this won't be changing any time soon. The people at Telestream had been trying to get permission, but it appears that Microsoft said no. link.
     

Share This Page