Help, worrisome AluPB System Problems!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Earendil, Feb 18, 2004.

1. Earendil macrumors 68000

Earendil

I'll start by saying thanks for reading this post. These boards are awesome, and it's not because of the site itself, it's because of you guys ;)

Also, so that my post can be read in the correct light, I am not a new user to either computers or Macintoshes (made a 400K boot disk for the Macintosh 512K today, it hadn't breathed for 10 years). I'm 19, I'm in a my prime :D

That said, I am new to OSX (don't ask).

I purchased a 15" Aluminum PB last Nov with my hard earned summer money. And now it is having fluky problems. And new ones are occurring in an even more frequent rate.

The first annoyance started from day one, with a lack of predictable waking up after sleeping do to closure. It seems[/] as if it has a higher chance of occurring if it is plugged into the wall, closed, power cord taken out, and walked off with to be opened up later. This coma state normally requires a hard restart to solve. But doesn't always happen, so it's hard to stick a finger on. Maybe happens 5% of the time, 10% if the "shut lid-power cord out-opened" scenario happens.

Starting a month ago-
    I have the screen set to dim after 3 minutes if running on battery. When it "awakens" from this screen off mode, the music in iTunes blips or skips. Small and infrequent at first, now it's almost 100% of the time. I thought perhaps it was a weak battery, but then it happened with the power cord in :(

Last week-
    For the first time, I had my computer not start up properly. It started up to a blue screen, and then flashed a square icon with a world in the middle. I didn't know what this symbol meant, so I restarted with everything unplugged (phone line, ethernet, mouse, headphone jack) to the same symbol. restarted off Boot CD and repaired the disk and permission and it cured that.

First Kernel Panic was 4 days ago.