HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cphoran81, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. cphoran81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #1
    I am brand new to apple computers and about to make an iMac g5 20" purchase. Im very very excited and feel i have mad a great choice but i need to ask a question first. I have a pretty easy question but i am not the most computer savy person so I just wanted to ask before I ordered my computer so I could order everything at once. my question is..I already have a windows based pc hooked up to a cable modem in another room of the house and I am planning on hooking up my apple in a different room. I am wondering what equipment I will need to get hooked up (online). Is there anyway I can be hooked up through the existing cable modem running to my other PC wirelessly? I have looked at the apple airport extreme base station but like i said earlier i am not the most computer savy person so i really do not understand its purpose to much. any help would be greatly appreciated. also if it was in lehmans terms that would help out alot. thanks
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    If you want both machines to have internet, you'll need some sort of router. If your modem already has another port that looks like the one connecting your current PC to it but is unused, you can simply plug an identical cable in and whamo, the Mac is connected.

    If not, there are two options.

    1. Buy a router and plug the modem into one end and both computers into the other. This'll share the internet connection but you may have to buy some more ethernet cables (probably the same as the one between your current modem and PC unless you have a USB modem).

    2. Buy the Express or a similar wireless access point and plug the modem into that. Then you can hook up wirelessly with the iMac as is. If the PC has a wireless card (unlikely) you can do the same but otherwise you'll have to buy a wireless card or get an access point with additional ethernet outputs in which case you'll plug the modem into the access point, plug the PC into that and have the iMac wherever you want because it'll wirelessly connect.
     
  3. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #3
    If your windows computer is on the internet, and has 2 Network connections, you can do Microsoft Internet connection shareing.

    This way you can leave your Windows box were it is, and share the internet connection with your Macintosh via 1 of 2 ways.

    1. If the Windows comptuer has a hard wire connection to the Modem, and one WIFI connection that is open, you can share the Hard line connection in Microsoft internet connection sharing, and share it to the Wifi connection.

    2. If your computer has 2 Ethernet (RJ 45 (looks like a big phone jack)) you can connect the 2nd port into a Airport, or Wirless hub / router, and share the internet connection that way.

    Mad Jew has a great solution, and it is the best way to go, but if you are somewhat cheap, and have equipment sitting around, you can skip the router path, and use your Windows box as a router.

    FAQ on setting up Microsoft Internet Connection shares
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    840quadra is correct but remember you'll have to leave your PC on all the time. Still, it'd be cheaper. :)
     
  5. crachoar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Do not waste your money on the Airport Extreme (g) base station.

    It costs way too much, and it doesn't act as a hard router (RJ45 cables - as well as wireless). I believe it only has one port for LAN? It's been a while since I used it, but I wasn't impressed by it - considering the price.

    The good news is, that it's officially supported by Apple - and of course - integrated and easy to use.

    The bad news is, you pay a $200.

    Personally, I don't think it's worth paying that much anymore. Wireless routers practically come in boxes of cereal these days.

    Also, avoid anything by 'Buffalo Technologies' like the plague. I used some of their wireless technologies (not by choice) and they were awful.

    Instead, look into a Belkin, Microsoft, Linksys or D-Link router. These brands all act as wireless routers, but also - include the ability to plug in computer without wireless cards into the unit to connect via the ethernet cables.

    If you shop around, you can usually get these units for free, or for $30. I got all of mine for free, luckily.

    Make sure your router is an '802.11g' router. The 802.11b routers are cheaper, but they will not be as fast.

    Don't worry, just because it doesn't have the Apple brand on it, doesn't mean that it won't work. They all work just fine with the macs. Just make sure the router has a web-admin function. I'm fairly certain, they all do.

    I run a Belkin and a Microsoft router (on top my Linksys). All of them have web-admin tools which are quite easy to use (although, I must admit, the Microsoft router has the worst UI out of all of them).

    Don't believe the hype - the Airport base station isn't that great. Look for a deal on a wireless g router and you'll be fine. Remember to read the manual so you can learn how to set a WEP key and whatnot. All it takes to set up is a bit of common sense really. It's rather simple.

    Buy the Airport if you've got cash to burn, and if you're deathly afraid of having to think for five minutes, as well as reading a few pages from the manual. Otherwise, any Wireless G router should do you nicely.

    Good luck.
     
  6. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #6
    ok so since i have an open port labeled ethernet on my existing motorala surfboard wich is what is connecting my cable modem to my windows based pc, I can connect the airport extreme or something similar to that open slot and my iMac will be able to connect through that?
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7

    Plugging the Express in will make it possible to have up to 10 computers (including your iMac) connect to the internet through it at any one time. However, it might be cheaper to buy an ethernet cord and plug that into the spare port and the back of the iMac if it's convenient.
     
  8. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #8
    yea the only problem is that they will be in two different rooms so running a cord is not really an option. but just to confirm, i can plug the apple airport (or something similar) into the open ethernet jack on my motorola surfboard thats plugged into my windows based pc in a different room and my apple should be able to connect wirelessly?
     
  9. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #9
    Holy Generic thread title Batman!

    Linksys are pretty good.
    If you have the opportunity on the PC you can get a wireless (802.11g/b) PCI card for it and then use internet sharing to your Mac (as long as it has an Airport card)
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Let me get this straight.

    Cable comes out of phone jack into cable modem.
    Second cable goes from modem into second box (Motorola).
    Two cables come out of this, one to the PC and one to the Express.
    iMac connects wirelessly to Express.

    Is that right? I'm not fully sure what this Motorola thing is but I'm pretty sure it sounds like a router in which case this set up will work. :)
     
  11. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #11
    1.cable comes out of wall into motorola surfboard
    2.motorola surfboard is connected to computer via what looks like a usb cord
    3.there is one more open spot on the motorola surfboard that says ethernet (looks like a big phone jack)

    this is the only computer in the house also.
     
  12. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #12
    also what is the difference between the AirPort Express Base Station with Air Tunes and the AirPort Extreme Base Station? will both of them work for my situation?
     
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Hmm... Well I'm not all that sure that the Motorola will be able to do USB and ethernet. Every modem I've seen that has both ports will only let one of them be accessed at any one time. :(
     
  14. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16

    Extreme has two (at least, maybe three) ethernet ports, one for modem in, and one for plugging into the PC.

    Express has only one ethernet port for modem in so you can't hardwire your PC to it. It also has an audio out port to plug into a sound system so you can play your iTunes wirelessly (AirTunes). It is also cheaper.

    I just checked Motorola's site and it seems I was right, it's either USB or ethernet, not both. :(

    You have a few realistic options:

    1. Get Express, put wireless card into PC, have both machines set up wirelessly.

    2. Get Extreme (more expensive), plug PC in and use iMac wirelessly.

    3. Get alternative brand (see James Philp's post) which will be cheaper and have the extra ethernet port.

    The Apples will be much easier to set up but remember you've always got us to ask advice from should the Linksys (or whatever brand you choose) become difficult. :)
     
  16. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #17
    so let me get this straight...i can buy the extreme and still be able to plug my current computer (even though its windows based) into the extreme and that will replace the motorola surfboard and also let me connect wirelessly to another room with my iMac?
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #18

    Here in Australia they stopped selling the single-port Extreme ages ago so I'm assuming that (especially with the Express) they've done the same worldwide. The Express will not replace the Motorola, which is from what I've gathered a modem. Instead of plugging the Motorola into the PC, you'll plug it into the Extreme first. Then another cable to the PC, and the Mac will take care of itself wirelessly.
     
  18. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #19
    Yep, you can still hook up a PC to the Apple Extreme base station. The powers that be decided not to play hard ball when it came to computer networking and lock the compeditors out, and any equipment that use ethernet or 802.11 you can be pretty confident that it will work with PC and Mac, that is connecting to the base station. As for the menus and options you can set inside the station, you need to have the correct utilities. Which I believe Apple provides for both platforms, while Linksys and others use a web base config which can sometimes not work on the Mac.
     
  19. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #20
    ahh i see. well thanks so much for the help. I really appreciate. and if any one else has any more advice please feel free to post. Thanks to all
     
  20. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #21
    Thanks varmit, I forgot to mention that pretty much whatever you get will be compatible with Windows and Mac.

    By the way cphoran81, I'd recommend checking out the competition before leaping on an Extreme. Apparently you can save lots of money that way however they may be a little harder to set up.

    Of course, once the thing's set up, it'll work flawlessly without any hassles (generally ;) ). I've got an Express-based network with two Macs and one PC and each computer simply looks for the connection on start up and goes from there. The net's on from the word go. :)
     
  21. cphoran81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #22
    Im still a little foggy on how and what i will need to have my pc based computer and my apple computer online. like i my apple will be in a different room and i would like it to be wireless. I am posting the link as the motorola surfboard i have that is hooked up to my windows based pc right now...

    http://broadband.motorola.com/consumers/products/sb5120/

    so if anyone can help me out it would be greatly appreciated. thanks to all
     
  22. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #23
    cphoran81, you need:

    1. Wireless router with more than one ethernet port (Extreme but not Express)

    2. A second ethernet cable.



    Let's just pretend you buy the Extreme:

    1. Unplug the cable going into the PC.

    2. Plug it into the modem-in port on the Extreme.

    3. Get the second ethernet cable and plug one end into the other ethernet port on the Extreme and the other end into the PC.

    Having done this, you'll have to set up the Extreme which is a whole other process but Apple has done a very good job of explaining it in their manual. Hope this helps. :)
     
  23. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #24
    That should work fine! good explanation :)
     
  24. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #25
    I fried both my DSL modem and then my Motorola Surfboard by trying to use USB and Ethernet. Unless it's made for that, it tries to pull 2 IP address (which you get billed for) and it can't handle the two connections. Don't try it...lol. Get a Linksys WRT54G. I have one and it's been great after I returned the few defective ones. :)
     

Share This Page