help

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Benjo Needs, Jan 10, 2004.

1. Benjo Needs macrumors newbie

hi, I'm afraid i'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to macs, as i switched from being a windows user for 10 years just a month ago.
    i'm running mac OSX 10.2, but have not installed any previous (classic) versions.
    This all seemed fine until i just purchased a digital camcorder, and the software and drivers for it are only compatible with mac OS 9.2 and everything previous.
    Can i still intall OS 9.2 without losing all the information that's on my hard drive?
    hopefully someone could help me.
    thanks!

2. iGav macrumors G3

Re: help

If your Digital Camcorder uses Firewire to connect to your Mac then more than likely it shouldn't need any drivers at all especially if it's from a well known brand.

Plug and play.... directly ino iMovie. ;)

What Mac have you got??

3. Benjo Needs thread starter macrumors newbie

I have an imac, but unfortunately the camcorder a usb connection, and no firewire :(
    any ways around this?

4. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Since all iMacs have USB, what is there to get around?

5. kettle macrumors 65816

kettle

USB 1.1 will take a very long time to transfer any DV content, you may be better off getting another input device (firewire)for your DV tapes.
    Unless your camera is USB 2 and your new iMac has USB 2 too.

6. Benjo Needs thread starter macrumors newbie

because when i plug the camcorder in via usb, it doesn't recognise anything as i can't install driver, or software.
    the basic question is, can i install OS9.2 after OSX 10.2?

7. kettle macrumors 65816

kettle

Thinking about it, your camera may have another name for firewire, maybe ieee1394 or I think sony used iLink as their name for it. The only technicality you may find is a difference between 4 and 6 pin cables.