Help!!!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Jackal05, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #1
    Ok I kinda messed up. I decided I wanted to get rid of all of the songs on my iPod and I just deleted them from its disk (from My Computer (I'm using Windows)). Now it thinks the songs are already there. :( Is there a way to reset it? Is it ok to just delete evrrything on the HD?
    Please help, it's 12:11 AM and I need to get going.
     
  2. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    On the Mac there's an iPod Software Updater that will reset your 'pod. Is there something similar on Windows? If so, that's the way to go. It'll in essence wipe the disk and restore it to original condition. Something must've come with the 'pods CD for Windows.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #3
    Nevermind I worked something out, I guess I kinda freaked out.
     
  4. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Or reset the iPod by pressing the Play and Menu buttons for 10 seconds.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #5
    Thanks for the advice, next time I'll keep that in mind. As for the resetting don't you have to toggle the Hold button first?
     
  6. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    I guess so! My 4G owner's manual says:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #7
    That doesn't get rid of the music does it? It just basically resets all settings and reindexes the database of the songs right?
    Also if I listen to a few songs on my PC and change their ratings, when I plugin my iPod will it update that information?
     
  8. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    Of course, elsewhere in the exact same manual, they say:
    That extra "connect to power outlet" step isn't mentioned earlier in the manual.
     
  9. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    Correct on both counts. I guess you need to use the updater - whatever the Windows equivalent is - to empty the 'pod correctly.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #10
    One more thing, how can I get all of the songs updated? By that I mean when I change their info I want iPod to automatically modify them on its drive.
     

Share This Page