Here's a question:

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mischief, Jan 23, 2002.

  1. macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #1
    Has anyone actually tried to install OS X on a nonMac? It sounds stupid but I'm curious. If you install Linux first.....................???
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #3
    Apple specs aren't the point.

    Thanx for the input but it doesn't answer the question. I was wondering if anyone had tried it, not if Apple officially says it works.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #4
    I don't know anyone who has tried...

    my thoughts are it would have to tweaked out a lot to work correctly, if at all, on a non-PowerPC....
     
  5. Retired

    jefhatfield

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    #5
    just want to drop in for a second

    see, people, this is what happens when you have too many posts
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    california, usa
  7. thread starter macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #7
    well isn't this cozy.

    Wussup Jef!

    You work on PC's all day: Give it a shot, eh? I have a little scratching in my brain that it'd work over Linux but I made a promise to myself to only program nonMacs with blunt instruments.:rolleyes: It's entirely too easy to dismiss out of hand as "too complex".
     
  8. Retired

    jefhatfield

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    #8
    hello

    with uma (universal motherboard architecture), the mac is now closer to the pc than ever so say the circuitboard engineers who have claimed all along that macs are just pcs anyway on the hardware engineering level

    i am not that type of engineer so i couldn't give you the specifics of nands and the color of the stripes and bus specs stuff, etc..

    my former teacher at the microsoft school in santa cruz is an electronic engineer with many years of experience and hw told he there is no reason that the two shouldn't somehow be made to be compatible

    nt and os x have more in common with each other than dos and os x

    actually i am going there today so i can ask him if he is not in a class
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #9
    I think someone here is suffering from multiple personality disorder.... :p
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    california, usa
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    california, usa
    #12
    re: x.1

    i don't have x.1 and i gave red hat linux away

    ...but you are right, i should actually try and put in os x over linux just to see what happens which i am sure will be a negative experience

    i believe apple would be smart enough to make os x only install on apple specific hardware since i don't think they want to port os x to a pc yet (perhaps they have no plans to port os x anyway)

    i tried to install windows 2000 on a laptop designed for windows 98 and all the drivers were not there and the laptop did not work 100 percent on the laptop

    there maybe some issues like that if i try to put x.1 on a linux pc box
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    OSX is compiled for PowerPC, I don't know of any other computer that use PowerPC so I would have to say if wouldn't work.

    If you had the source code and alot of time you might be able to get it to compile on another architecture...

    The only other option is some sort of VM with an emulator but this is getting a bit silly :)
     

Share This Page